1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

need help unrooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by bryanjames70, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    first off i was running kangernades 2.2 from rom manager when i switched back to cyanogen 5.0.8 when my power button decided to stop working

    so now i want to take it back to the verizon store for a new phone or to be fixed

    so i need to go back to stock i flashed my original backup i made just after rooting before going on to custom roms it was way back to 2.0 stock ( rooted )
    wich is where i am now kinda

    i have the superuser app

    but if i run DM updater it says i am not rooted

    if i try to flash something ( recovery, Rom, Stock Rom unrooted )
    from Rom manager i get an error.....

    " an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands".

    i tried downloading a unrooted udate.zip file it said there was an error number 7 or something to that effect if anyone knows of a stock unrooted udate.zip file i can download i will give that a shot.

    i figured this as a last resort
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/37717-unroot-unbrick-using-sbf-post-ikithme.html

    any other suggestions.
  2. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I have the stock 2.1 build ESE81 update.zip file I could send you a link to.
  3. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would appreciate it i will give it a shot
  4. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Sent you a PM with the link.
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    i think you'll still have to use that link you mentioned, at least if you want to go back to the stock recovery as well
  6. tkimball00
    Offline

    tkimball00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still have superuser app

    just really confused installed a stock 2.1 update.zip file + factory reset + clear cache and still have superuser app
  8. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    yeah you'll have to either use the link that tkimball posted or the link you mentioned in your first post and flash back to 2.0.1 with rsdlite, then either get the 2.1 update OTA or with the update.zip you just tried
  9. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    push using sbf

    so it tells me to hold up on the D-pad while booting for how long what should happen because nothing happens when i do this it just sits with a blank black screen soon as i let go it boots normally
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    make sure you're holding "up" when looking at the phone in landscape, not portrait... i.e., it would be "right" if holding the phone in portrait...

    i always just hold down "up" on the d-pad, power it on, and after a couple of seconds from hitting the power button, you'll see the screen do a little flicker, that's when i let off the d-pad, and the bootloader screen should load up
  11. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats a negative i am holding up the real up
    and the screen does flickr and then it boots normally
    right after the flickr no matter hhow many times i let that flickr cycle it still just boots normally after that
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    it's been awhile since i've done it... let me try it real quick and i'll report back exactly how i did it
  13. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any way to get to the bootloader without doing that
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    ok here's what i did...

    hold down d-pad
    hold down power
    when i saw the flicker, released both power and d-pad, and it worked
  15. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    i don't believe so, but if this doesn't work, then there's something wrong with your droid
  16. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i know there is something wrong with it the power button is broke i want to take it back for the factory warranty and have to get rid of root cannot do that without pushing software from rsd lite in bootloader mode
  17. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    i'm an idiot... i'm sorry, i completely forgot the whole reason for this was your power button was broke... i went to watch germany play spain and forgot what this post was all about...

    this might be a good post for the rescue squad (for those watching!)

    my only other thought is that ROM Manager has a version of 2.0.1 you can flash back to through its' recovery (clockwork), at least it used to... i'm not sure if it leaves the clockwork recovery on there or not. However, it just hit me that if your power button doesn't work, you can't really get into recovery anyway...

    However something else just hit me - if you're able to see the flicker, and then it boots up, how are you even doing that without a working power button? Battery pull?
  18. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah battery pull

    and no flashing through rom manager i get an error basically saying i am not rooted
    but i have the superuser app
    and cannot root or unroot from update.zip from recovery
    so last option was rsd lite but cannot get into bootloader for that to work
  19. bryanjames70
    Offline

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i might call get insurance and snap it in half
  20. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    currently do you have sprecovery or clockwork installed?
Search tags for this page
how to unroot a motorola triumph
,

how to unroot droid triumph with terminal emulator

,

unroot motorola triumph

,
unroot motorola triumph using terminal emulator
,

unroot triumph