need help unrooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by bryanjames70, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    first off i was running kangernades 2.2 from rom manager when i switched back to cyanogen 5.0.8 when my power button decided to stop working

    so now i want to take it back to the verizon store for a new phone or to be fixed

    so i need to go back to stock i flashed my original backup i made just after rooting before going on to custom roms it was way back to 2.0 stock ( rooted )
    wich is where i am now kinda

    i have the superuser app

    but if i run DM updater it says i am not rooted

    if i try to flash something ( recovery, Rom, Stock Rom unrooted )
    from Rom manager i get an error.....

    " an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands".

    i tried downloading a unrooted udate.zip file it said there was an error number 7 or something to that effect if anyone knows of a stock unrooted udate.zip file i can download i will give that a shot.

    i figured this as a last resort
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/37717-unroot-unbrick-using-sbf-post-ikithme.html

    any other suggestions.
     
  2. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the stock 2.1 build ESE81 update.zip file I could send you a link to.
     
  3. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would appreciate it i will give it a shot
     
  4. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sent you a PM with the link.
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    i think you'll still have to use that link you mentioned, at least if you want to go back to the stock recovery as well
     
  6. tkimball00

    tkimball00 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    still have superuser app

    just really confused installed a stock 2.1 update.zip file + factory reset + clear cache and still have superuser app
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    yeah you'll have to either use the link that tkimball posted or the link you mentioned in your first post and flash back to 2.0.1 with rsdlite, then either get the 2.1 update OTA or with the update.zip you just tried
     
  9. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    push using sbf

    so it tells me to hold up on the D-pad while booting for how long what should happen because nothing happens when i do this it just sits with a blank black screen soon as i let go it boots normally
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    make sure you're holding "up" when looking at the phone in landscape, not portrait... i.e., it would be "right" if holding the phone in portrait...

    i always just hold down "up" on the d-pad, power it on, and after a couple of seconds from hitting the power button, you'll see the screen do a little flicker, that's when i let off the d-pad, and the bootloader screen should load up
     
  11. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats a negative i am holding up the real up
    and the screen does flickr and then it boots normally
    right after the flickr no matter hhow many times i let that flickr cycle it still just boots normally after that
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    it's been awhile since i've done it... let me try it real quick and i'll report back exactly how i did it
     
  13. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    any way to get to the bootloader without doing that
     
  14. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    ok here's what i did...

    hold down d-pad
    hold down power
    when i saw the flicker, released both power and d-pad, and it worked
     
  15. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    i don't believe so, but if this doesn't work, then there's something wrong with your droid
     
Search tags for this page
how to unroot a motorola triumph
,
how to unroot droid triumph with terminal emulator
,

unroot motorola triumph

,
unroot motorola triumph using terminal emulator
,
unroot triumph