need help unrooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by bryanjames70, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    any way to get to the bootloader without doing that
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    ok here's what i did...

    hold down d-pad
    hold down power
    when i saw the flicker, released both power and d-pad, and it worked
     
  3. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    i don't believe so, but if this doesn't work, then there's something wrong with your droid
     
  4. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i know there is something wrong with it the power button is broke i want to take it back for the factory warranty and have to get rid of root cannot do that without pushing software from rsd lite in bootloader mode
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    i'm an idiot... i'm sorry, i completely forgot the whole reason for this was your power button was broke... i went to watch germany play spain and forgot what this post was all about...

    this might be a good post for the rescue squad (for those watching!)

    my only other thought is that ROM Manager has a version of 2.0.1 you can flash back to through its' recovery (clockwork), at least it used to... i'm not sure if it leaves the clockwork recovery on there or not. However, it just hit me that if your power button doesn't work, you can't really get into recovery anyway...

    However something else just hit me - if you're able to see the flicker, and then it boots up, how are you even doing that without a working power button? Battery pull?
     
  6. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah battery pull

    and no flashing through rom manager i get an error basically saying i am not rooted
    but i have the superuser app
    and cannot root or unroot from update.zip from recovery
    so last option was rsd lite but cannot get into bootloader for that to work
     
  7. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i might call get insurance and snap it in half
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    currently do you have sprecovery or clockwork installed?
     
  9. bryanjames70

    bryanjames70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think sprecovery
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    if, when you load up recovery, it's blue text at the top, a greenish android in the background, and orange text in the middle, then it's sprecovery

    and if that's the case, you should at least be able to get root access again and possibly try the rom manager thing - check here and see if you can just simply get root access for 2.1 again, then you could try the ROM Manager thing again:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    look in box option 04
     
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    i've gotta leave for a few hours, so hopefully someone else, maybe from the rescue squad, can step in here and help out if you need it between now and then, or correct anything i told you wrong ;)
     
  12. JonDenver'sCopilot

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download "Quick Boot" by "Sirius Applications Ltd." in the market, it has the option to reboot, boot recovery, and boot bootloader from its gui. Then you can flash an sbf.

    You owe me a beer. [​IMG][​IMG]
     
Search tags for this page
how to unroot a motorola triumph
,
how to unroot droid triumph with terminal emulator
,

unroot motorola triumph

,
unroot motorola triumph using terminal emulator
,
unroot triumph