Need help installing the UD ROM

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by kfloydlezak, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. kfloydlezak

    kfloydlezak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Place in NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok responding to both...
    Yes clicking "allow update.zip" then installing Zip.
    I just purchaed the professional version of clockwork recovery for 4.99 and still cannot install my ROM....(I miss my old phone...crying now)...
    I even documented everything last time I Rooted my old D1. But for some reason, when I started to Root it, it threw me into a boot loop. So I went back to stock, then tried to Root again and it worked, but now I can't install the UD Rom.
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    can you jump on gtalk? I will PM you my info if you want to do that. I can try and walk you through it.
     
  3. v941726

    v941726 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it sounds like your not quite rooted to me. maybe try another root method. there are probably lots out there for the D1.
    what exactly happens when you try to install UD?
     
  4. kfloydlezak

    kfloydlezak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Place in NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    sure, PM I really appreciate the help!!! I have never used Gtalk.
     
  5. kfloydlezak

    kfloydlezak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Place in NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok guys Ffull helped me and now UD is installed... for those of you doing this, wait until the bar at the bottom (while installing update.zip) has fully finished. We are not sure if it was the file or my lack of impatience :).
    Thanks again to all.
    If anyone has the same issue I had when rooting, as in red X through battery, boot loops, PM me and I can advise what my mistakes are.
    Kerry
     
  6. v941726

    v941726 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad you got it
     
  7. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Glad I could help!
     
  8. daflyinskwirl

    daflyinskwirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in the midst of doing this on my Droid 1, and the bottom bar is not quite complete, and has not finished for some time (roughly 5 minutes or so)

    I got stuck in a boot loop when I tried to restart the first time.

    I recovered (with SPrecovery to a rooted version of android 2.1).
    I opened up terminal emulator, typed in SU and I got a # so I know I'm rooted.

    I then decided to try and install UD 3.3.1 again using SP recovery.

    the bar has still not finished, yet it says "Install from sdcard complete."

    help please.
     
  9. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    If it says install complete, it should be complete.
     
  10. glange65

    glange65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same issue here as well

    Thought I'd give UD a try...installation says complete but I always get stuck at the Motorola screen...nothing boots up (I'm guessing that's what you call a bootloop???)

    Tried wiping and reinstalling three times so far...still no.

    This would have been my 5th ROM installed...thought I was getting the hang of it. Maybe my phone is trying to tell me something...like "GIVE IT A REST for a while...I need a vacation!"

    Used Raidzero's SPR Recovery

    Any additional thoughts?
     
  11. daflyinskwirl

    daflyinskwirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried system reboot not long after making my first post (the bar on the bottom was NOT completed, yet the screen said "install complete".

    the first time I did this (before I posted) I was stuck in infinite boot loop.

    I tried installing again (once I recovered to a rooted 2.1 ROM) and the same thing happened. It said "complete" yet the bar was not finished.

    I rebooted and crossed my fingers and.. IT WORKED.

    not sure what the deal was... I did a cache wipe and data wipe and maybe that helped? I also made double sure to click on "allow update to install" before clicking on install update.

    hope this helps.

    I LOVE the new version of UD.