Moto Droid Boot Issue

Kapland

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a long time software engineer who decided to do 4 years in the Navy to help out while I was still young enough. Anyway, somehow my moto droid crapped out and now it won't boot -- it shows the initial M logo and then the screen blanks and then the M logo comes back, over and over.

So here I figured, "hey, I'm a techie, I'll just reinstall the OS, no problem!". Boy was I wrong. I've been going nuts trying to get my phone to connect to the PC. First, let me say, the only two stable modes I can boot into are bootloader and recovery. Also, I'm using WinXP.

First I went to the moto site and tried to get it to restore the OS. Drivers install fine but the web app won't see my phone -- in bootloader it says it's not getting a device ID and in recovery it says the phone isn't in USB mode.

Ok, so then I tried using the SDK. Well, the drivers won't install. So I wiped the moto drivers. When I put the phone in bootloader mode and plug it in, it says it found an "SE Flash" device. When I direct it to the SDK drivers, it says it can't find any drivers for the device. When I try it in recovery mode, it finds a "Motorola A55 USB Device" and I can't update the drivers to the SDK ones either. Heck, even with the A55 drivers, I can't access the "Removable Disk" from Explorer.

Anyway, I'm stuck and I really need this phone to work since being in the military means I have to be reachable at all times. I'd really appreciate any help you can give me. Ultimately I just need to get the OS back in regardless of how -- maybe I've been going about it wrong?

Thanks for any help,
Dave

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
Welcome to the site...

What did you do to the phone before it quit?

Did you Root?
Custom Roms?

OP
K

Kapland

Reaction score