1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Minor update rolling out now (or soon)

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by acejavelin, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
  2. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I find this very suspicious, and reminds me of the last update for the DROID x.

    That update replaced the bootloader making it impossible to root, rom, or install previous versions. It took a few months for developers to come up with a difficult and time consuming procedure to root that version.

    Verizon and htc have given up on any Rezound updates. We won't get jelly beans, we won't even get the global phone update (except for the leak).

    I bet there will be only negative things in this update.

    I hope my hunch is wrong and the update is just some improved LTE radio firmware
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  3. Coupe
    Offline

    Coupe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indy
    I just got it, and I could not opt out. I wonder what this is going to cost me?
  4. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I got it. Twice. Both said a Verizon update vs the usual Android or HTC update. I was driving home and didn't see it until I heard my email tone, checked it at a red light and it was updating then. I got home and about 15 minutes later it did the same thing.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
  5. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just finished the update and see nothing new. I am not rooted or anything so who knows

    Chris

    FROM MY ROCKIN REZOUND
  6. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    While looking for anything new I see where I now have the "charm" menu option. That wasn't there before.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
  7. gerrya
    Offline

    gerrya New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it the Global Roaming update?
  8. svdroiddude
    Offline

    svdroiddude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't see any difference, which is ok I guess.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
  9. sp3ar2envi
    Offline

    sp3ar2envi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The charm option has been there since Ics.....
  10. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    No, it is not... No noticeable changes on my work Rezound so far.

    EDIT: Hmmm... my data speeds seem to be cut in half or worse on LTE, normally get 25-35MB down and ~15MB up, now "only" 10 down and 8 up, signal strength is about the same (around -62 dBm) and at midnight locally. Tested three times with a phone with new update, and three times on one without (3.14.605.12), and same result, the older firmware resulted in much higher speeds. Anyone else noticing a slow down in 4G speeds with the new update or was this just a fluke?
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
  11. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Yeah. nevermind, I may have hit the panic button early, it looks like it was just a fluke... I ran the speedtest this morning and it came back about normal (24M down & 13M up) for this time of day.
  12. Bpowder33
    Offline

    Bpowder33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried unlocking and rooting with the update to see if it works?
  13. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I found what they added. I did a reboot this morning after charging all night. When I went to type a screen popped up for swype. I have never had that before

    FROM MY ROCKIN REZOUND
  14. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    No Swype here, just the normal Sense keyboard (Touch Input w/Trace Typing) and Google voice typing.
  15. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    No, I only loaded it on my work Rezound which is bone stock... I did read somewhere else it broke root but not unlock, but they were able to just reinstall su and go.
  16. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try a reboot. Another thing. Is if you move widgets around it pulls up arrows around so you can adjust the size of the box. I need to play with thus a bit

    FROM MY ROCKIN REZOUND
  17. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Lol... yes, the original ICS release did this as well on widgets that are re-sizable as you describe, this is not new.

    Rebooted, cleared cache, and tried again... still no Swype (thank god, I hate the official Swype!). Not sure why you are getting Swype now, it is not part of the firmware update.
  18. Bpowder33
    Offline

    Bpowder33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like he updated SwiftKey and flow is ago.
  19. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Had never seen any of that before. Odd

    FROM MY ROCKIN REZOUND
  20. Detours
    Offline

    Detours New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the update last night, but couldn't find any new features either.

    This may be wishful thinking, but maybe this update sets the stage for a jelly bean release ... the way they did with that minor update before the ICS upgrade. I'm not holding my breath tho.
Search tags for this page
assert failed check cid
,
error in cache fumo otapkg zip
,
htc linkify dispatcher what is it
,
htc rezound 2013 ruu
,

htc rezound update

,
htc rezound wont update
,
reject verizon rezound update
,
rezound charm
,
rezound update failing
,
verizon charm rezound