Yay! - ICS for the Rezound finally rolling out?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by JeffDenver, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. VooDooCC

    VooDooCC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Findlay, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Downloading mine now, about halfway through the first file. Unfortunately, I just remembered that I got a Dr. appointment so it will take me a bit longer ::crosses fingers::
    Edit: running ics now, took me about an hour between a network do and the battery needing charged.
    Maybe it's just me, but I expected to be more wowed by ics. On my wife's razr, it changed a lot, but so far I've only noticed about 3 changes on the rezound.
     
    #61 VooDooCC, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  2. blownfuse25

    blownfuse25 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey board... Been looking for answer, but know one seems to know or has gotten it yet....

    If you are running the latest ICS LEAK... will u still be able to get the update ? Ota ?

    Thanks
     
  3. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    The answer seems to be "No". So far I have not seen a single example of anyone with any version of the leak getting the OTA prompt.
     
  4. blownfuse25

    blownfuse25 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotcha... So now what do the people who have the leak do ?
     
  5. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    What do we need to do? The leak already works extremely well. The OTA contains trivial bug fixes that most people will not even notice. It is possible the leak is even better, because we don't know if Verizon may have monkeyed with the guts of the update (so that you cannot disable certain apps for example).

    But there is a manual install for the .12 version, which is the same as the OTA anyway. It is not official, but it is functionally identical to the OTA.
     
  6. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    do I need to backup my text messages and such, or not?
     
  7. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I would, yeah. You should assume that any Data on your internal memory is at risk. I use this as a quick and easy (and free) Text backup - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.riteshsahu.SMSBackupRestore - I have mine on a schedule, and it backs up all texts every night for me.

    Photos and downloads will probably be safe, but I would still back them up just in case.

    EDIT - Oh yeah, and it will probably wipe your call logs too. But there is an app for that as well - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.riteshsahu.CallLogBackupRestore
     
  8. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have the msg app for when I went from my inc2 to this one. Only have had it under 2 months, so not much on it that I didn't have backed up before. I'll do the Ics tonight with more time
     
  9. VooDooCC

    VooDooCC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Findlay, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    I made a backup in case, but it seems to be everything is still there.
     
  10. sp3ar2envi

    sp3ar2envi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried pulling the update and it worked. Currently downloading it in nc.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
     
  11. vfp5

    vfp5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still waiting for both updates:(
     
  12. peepmyswag

    peepmyswag Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
    You try pulling it?