Major Issues with my X2

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by josg21, May 22, 2011.

  1. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Try the contact ones first. I have no problems with mine, but I don't remember exactly which ones I deviated from the suggestions.
  2. kc9bvl
    Offline

    kc9bvl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I Went through one at a time and found that Email Engine 2.2.2 being frozen was keeping the calendar from working properly. Not sure how the two are linked but it definately breaks the calendar when frozen.
  3. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Makes sense. That's one of the ones I kept. I assumed Gmail was tied to it so I let it be.
  4. triplec76
    Offline

    triplec76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I posted this a day or two ago.

  5. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    What problems are you seeing with contacts (I'm assuming that's what you meant by phonebook)? I have both of those frozen and have no issues.
  6. triplec76
    Offline

    triplec76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry, yes, I meant contacts. They were force closing when trying to add a new contact with those two frozen. I froze one at a time to see if it was just one or the other and adding a contact FC'd with each one.
  7. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Woops, I have corporate sync authenticator not frozen, but yahoo mail authenticator is frozen and I was just able to both add and delete a contact.
  8. triplec76
    Offline

    triplec76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I double checked it again just now on my phone and freezing Yahoo Mail Authenticator causes contacts to force close when trying to add a contact. At least on my phone, maybe someone else can respond with their findings.
  9. Crazy Composer
    Offline

    Crazy Composer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Advanced Task Killer was my problem. I recently tossed my Thunderbolt for a real phone... DROID X2. :) (Thunderbolt was a very expensive frustration for my wife and me). At first everything was completely splendid with the x2, but then an old foe showed its ugly head... screen unresponsiveness. I had this same problem with a screen before, with my original DROID x. Well, after doing a hard reset everything worked fine. I then began placing my downloaded apps back on the phone one at a time to try and isolate the app that was causing my problems... lo and behold... it was Advanced Task Killer doing it.

    So... now I just let the android system handle its own business, and I stay out of it. My X2 has been running perfectly ever since. Very, very happy now! Best phone I have owned to date... and I have had the OG DROID, DROID x, thunderbolt, and now the DROID x2.

    cc
  10. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Task killers are a known big no-no since Froyo released. They're fine as long as they're not set to auto-kill and you just one-off a rogue application here or there.
  11. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    HOW DO YOU "FREEZE" APPS. seems like this will help for me but i have no idea how to "freeze and app".

    thanks
  12. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Paid version of Titanium Backup.
  13. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just purchased it thank you very much. Is there anything else i should know about this? Or any other useful features?
  14. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    damn. I have an "unrooted" phone... What do i do now? How do i root my phone?
  15. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You can also use Bloat Freeze. Doesn't have other features of Titanium but is free.

    Google "Gingerbreak android phone" and you'll be able to root it easily.
  16. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just did this and find many ways to do this. which one or is there an app i should get and use? you may email me one if you would. I really appreciate your assistance.
  17. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i also searched for "bloat freeze" and says its .99 is that the one? i dont mind paying for a good app if it will work for me.. for the record i did purchase the titanium app. but, its for a rooted phone which i dont have YET
  18. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yeah you're right, I've been using it for so long I'd actually forgotten it wasn't free. But yeah that's the one. Unfortunately you'll still need a rooted phone to use it.

    Rooting a phone is easier than ever now. Seriously just search for the gingerbreak method and you'll be rooted in 5-10 minutes. It's also easily UNrootable though I promise you won't regret it.

    Sadly it seems for our phones we must either root or suffer to lag.
  19. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thank you very much i do want to do it, would you possibly have a link to a trust worthy place so i can follow directions on how to do it? I really appreciat it
  20. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
Search tags for this page
android x2 problems
,
droid x2 battery problems
,
droid x2 camera issues
,

droid x2 camera problems

,

droid x2 issues

,
droid x2 laggy
,

droid x2 problems

,
droid x2 very slow
,
droidx2 problems
,
my droid x2 is running slow
,

problems with droid x2

,
verizon droid x2 problems