Major Issues with my X2

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by josg21, May 22, 2011.

  1. dcypher
    Offline

    dcypher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i talked to the rep at the verizon store (who is a friend of mine) and told her about the problems i was having with my droid x2 she said i should return it before it gets worse then i asked if i should wait and get the droid bionic and she said id be waiting a very long time she couldnt give me a date but sounds like it wont be anytime soon
  2. coyotetech
    Offline

    coyotetech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reboot after using camera

    Mine rebooted today after using the camera (first time I tried the camera). Of course, it caused me to miss the shot of my son getting his next karate belt. Dang!
  3. josg21
    Offline

    josg21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I amusing lancherpro

    I returned the phons and got a new one. Its working better
  4. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    It seems to be a lack of memory issue. I'm not sure if it's due to a memory leak somewhere or what. Removing most of my widgets and getting rid widget locker seems to have stopped the redrawing and slowdowns. My DX1 ran all of this fine, though. Not sure what to think.
  5. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Just reporting in, my X2 is flying.

    Not a single issue.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  6. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mass
    Mines lagging, rebooting, getting extremely hot out of nowhere. Battery went from 100 to 0 (PAST 0 as in had to leave in in charger for an hour JUST to get to the 0% screen) overnight. I just factory reset it, have to wait to activate it (really android?) but lets hope this fixes something.
  7. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Just curious, anyone that's having problems are you rooted? Did you freeze any bloat ware? Install any kind of task killer or restore apps with data in titanium backup?

    I rooted, manually installed everything, froze almost all the bloat in titanium, mainly app syncing crap most of whatever the running processes screen showed that I know I didn't need.

    Also using adwEX instead of blur home. Fancy widget pro, clockr, google voice, cputemp (which incidently doesn't read the cpu temp correctly, but it does memory and battery temp so it's still a nice little widget) and plume are the widgets I'm running.

    It's like greased lightning. Best phone I've ever had.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  8. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mass
    I'm not rooted but probably will when I activate this again tomorrow. I did have a task manager also forgot which one. I might go take it in for another one and battery. If you don't mind juhde but what where all the apps you froze? I'm new to android, and would rather not break or mess anything up.
  9. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    The task manager might have been part of your problem, they're a real no no, known to cause stability and battery issues.

    I'll gladly write up everything I froze just not tonight, it's 1:30am but I'll post in this thread first thing in the morning.

    Plus I think there are one or two more apps that can be frozen, but I want to test before I let the list into the wild.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  10. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Put 'em in the coolah

    Here's the list of everything I froze in Titanium.

    Backup Assistant 2.2.2
    Backup Assistant Client 1.0
    Blockbuster
    BOOKMARKS Browser 2.2.2
    CarDock
    Cit ID
    Contacts Sync
    ContactsData
    Desk Home
    Email 2.2.2
    Email Authenticator 2.2.2
    Email Engine
    Facebook Authenticator
    HSTcmd
    IM 3.0.4.6
    IM Presence
    LastFM Authenticator
    Lets Golf
    LinkedIn Authenticator
    Messages 2.2.2
    Messaging 2.2.2
    Motorola Dock Service
    Myspace Authenticator
    New & Weather
    News 2.2.2
    NFL Mobile
    NFS Shift
    Orkut Authenticator
    Photobucket Authenticator
    Picasa Authenticator
    Quick Connect
    Skype Mobile
    Skyrocked Authenticator
    Slacker 2.1.180
    Social Messaging
    Social Messaging Service
    Social Networking
    Social Sharing
    Social Status
    Suggestions
    Suggestions Core RuleChecker Services
    Suggestions Poll Scheduler Service
    Sync Service 1.5.9
    Task Manager 10.0
    Twitter Authenticator
    V CAST Apps
    V CAST Music
    V CAST Videos
    Voicemail 1.1
    VZ Navigator
    Weather 2.2.2
    Yahoo Contacts 2.2.2
    Yahoo! Mail Authenticator 2.2.2

    Obviously If you actually use any of this, don't freeze it, If you're not sure, you can always DEFROST. NEVER EVER EVER DELETE ANYTHING. If one day you do decide you want to accept a OTA update you actually need this crap installed or the update won't work. Since there is no SBF files for this phone at this time it's very very important that you don't screw up as there is NO WAY TO FIX IT AT THIS TIME.

    Don't hold me responsible, USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    This is just a list of what I froze, no more no less.

    Cheers
  11. jmars125
    Offline

    jmars125 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might see some issues with your contacts force closing when you try to add them if you freeze the yahoo contacts and authenticator. Once you freeze them and reboot the phone to get rid of the frozen apps is where you will see the issue I am talking about tested this 3 times just to make sure.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  12. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I could not reproduce this on my phone.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  13. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mass
    Froze everything you said, except messaging would refuse to open. Unfroze everything works again. I'll have to see whats up with that.
  14. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Two options: 1) don't freeze messaging. 2) install a 3rd party sms/mms app (handcent, go sms)

    I don't like stock or blur messaging, so I use handcent and freeze it.

    Like my post says if you use any of the stuff listed, don't freeze it.

    Cheers
    Sent from my DROID X2
  15. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mass
    Figured out it was the Email Engine that was giving me problems. Everything works fine now, but was just wondering why when I first got the phone I had the new Android Market now after a full wipe and activation I have the old one? Btw Thanks for the help!
  16. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Sounds like we're beta testing this phone for Verizon and Motorola. *sigh*
  17. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    It *should* update to the new market on it's own.

    If it doesn't you can always try going to application management, clearing the data and cache for market, force stop it and reboot. It should upgrade after a few minutes.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  18. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I beta test everything I own lol.

    But yeah, you're right.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  19. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Something in one of these is stopping calender from adding a new event. If anyone figures out which one, let me know please.

    So far this is the only thing broken from freezing all of the above I can find.

    Sent from my DROID X2
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  20. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Was experience a similar problem, not to the extremes others seem to be, but there was definitely lag when scrolling and it took a bit for the lock screen to appear when unlocking. Pretty much fixed it from reading this thread.

    Use Gingerbreak to root it then download Bloat Remover. Check online for things that are ok to freeze and do it. Obviously don't freeze it if you use it. However once I did this I haven't had a single problem and this thing is blazingly fast. Like someone else said, I think it's mostly the "social" apps like flickr, twitter, myspace etc that sync everytime you unlock your phone. So I froze all of these and no problems since.

    For reassurance, you can freeze these processes and still use those programs. Just dl an app specific to whatever it is and you're good to do. Also this is using Go Launcher Ex with a multitude of customized everything.

    To jhude, maybe try defrosting one of the sync options? Could be trying to sync to google calendar or something and throwing it off.
Search tags for this page
android x2 problems
,
droid x2 battery problems
,
droid x2 camera issues
,

droid x2 camera problems

,

droid x2 issues

,
droid x2 laggy
,

droid x2 problems

,
droid x2 very slow
,
droidx2 problems
,
my droid x2 is running slow
,

problems with droid x2

,
verizon droid x2 problems