Major Issues with my X2

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by josg21, May 22, 2011.

  1. jmars125
    Offline

    jmars125 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might see some issues with your contacts force closing when you try to add them if you freeze the yahoo contacts and authenticator. Once you freeze them and reboot the phone to get rid of the frozen apps is where you will see the issue I am talking about tested this 3 times just to make sure.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
     
  2. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    I could not reproduce this on my phone.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  3. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    Froze everything you said, except messaging would refuse to open. Unfroze everything works again. I'll have to see whats up with that.
     
  4. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Two options: 1) don't freeze messaging. 2) install a 3rd party sms/mms app (handcent, go sms)

    I don't like stock or blur messaging, so I use handcent and freeze it.

    Like my post says if you use any of the stuff listed, don't freeze it.

    Cheers
    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  5. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    Figured out it was the Email Engine that was giving me problems. Everything works fine now, but was just wondering why when I first got the phone I had the new Android Market now after a full wipe and activation I have the old one? Btw Thanks for the help!
     
  6. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like we're beta testing this phone for Verizon and Motorola. *sigh*
     
  7. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    It *should* update to the new market on it's own.

    If it doesn't you can always try going to application management, clearing the data and cache for market, force stop it and reboot. It should upgrade after a few minutes.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  8. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    I beta test everything I own lol.

    But yeah, you're right.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  9. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Something in one of these is stopping calender from adding a new event. If anyone figures out which one, let me know please.

    So far this is the only thing broken from freezing all of the above I can find.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  10. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Was experience a similar problem, not to the extremes others seem to be, but there was definitely lag when scrolling and it took a bit for the lock screen to appear when unlocking. Pretty much fixed it from reading this thread.

    Use Gingerbreak to root it then download Bloat Remover. Check online for things that are ok to freeze and do it. Obviously don't freeze it if you use it. However once I did this I haven't had a single problem and this thing is blazingly fast. Like someone else said, I think it's mostly the "social" apps like flickr, twitter, myspace etc that sync everytime you unlock your phone. So I froze all of these and no problems since.

    For reassurance, you can freeze these processes and still use those programs. Just dl an app specific to whatever it is and you're good to do. Also this is using Go Launcher Ex with a multitude of customized everything.

    To jhude, maybe try defrosting one of the sync options? Could be trying to sync to google calendar or something and throwing it off.
     
  11. Elite49
    Offline

    Elite49 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mass
    Ratings:
    +0
    dancedroid been running good since reset and root. Installed Launcher Pro and its working even better.
     
  12. p1ngputts
    Offline

    p1ngputts Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +2
    dont want to start a new thread on this, but is anyone experiencing worse 3g speeds? My OG Droid streamed and had better reception than my x2. I'm hoping the answer is that the network has been slow altogether recently. My best example is Amazon Cloud. Never had a problem with my og droid, now i get network error constantly.
     
  13. kookk
    Offline

    kookk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've experienced MUCH better reception...like from 1 sketchy bar on my og to constant 4

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  14. Sanitarium09
    Offline

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine reboots constantly when I'm using the camera.
     
  15. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get better reception on my X than my X2. In general, about a bar better where ever I am. Also, since making the changes with V6 Supercharger, I haven't had a single redraw on LP. That definitely made all the difference in the world. I used setting 6 (Balanced 2).
     
Search tags for this page
droid x2 battery problems
,
droid x2 camera issues
,
droid x2 camera problems
,
droid x2 issues
,
droid x2 laggy
,

droid x2 problems

,
droid x2 very slow
,
droidx2 problems
,
problems with droid x2
,
verizon droid x2 problems