Locked Bootloader?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by freeqaz, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. freeqaz

    freeqaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, I ran a quick googlefu and went through the forums here but I can't seem to figure out if the Bionic has a locked bootloader or not. All the google hits that I found are speculation prior to release.

    I've got an HTC Thunderbolt and I'm feeling the CM7 love. I would love to update to a Bionic (my brother gets my TB) but I don't want want be stuck with a crummy locked phone. That's what kept me from the DX/D2 for so long.

    Happy Hacking,
    -Free
     
  2. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    The bootloader is locked right now. The Bionic does currently have root ability.
     
  3. freeqaz

    freeqaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    Locked as in no OC or Tether? D:
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Locked as in can be bricked.

    Tether works independent of locked bootloader.

    OC won't happen, as you need to have another kernel built. Locked bootloader doesn't allow that.
     
  5. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    Well root is needed for wireless tether in most cases. And the bionic does have root all ready. One way or another you should be able to tether. Even non rooted phones can use pdanet or easytether. No OC right now. I'm would suspect the kernel has the processor locked down to 1.0ghz.
     
  6. tcayton49

    tcayton49 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    The reason all the hits are speculated prior to release is because the phone hasn't released yet
     
  7. tcayton49

    tcayton49 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Actually you only need root to overclock. Bionic has root but apparently Moto has figured out how to patch it so it may not matter
     
  8. Speeding Wheels

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16

    easy enough not to install an OTA update if it's discovered it will break root.
     
  9. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Yea...there has been some big strides since the Droid X1 came out. Probably was like that with the Milestone too, dont really know.
     
  10. wseyller

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +9
    the D3 has a leaked version of the new update and it didn't not break root. Seemed like they do care right now.

    Edit: Seems like they do not care right now about patching it.

    I need to proof read more often.
     
  11. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,925
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +308
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    So any idea if the D3 users are flashing the leak with stock recovery or do they have a custom one yet?
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    No custom recovery on D3 as of yet.
     
Search tags for this page
bionic have root access how do i unlock bootloader
,

droid bionic locked

,
is the droid bionic bootloader locked