Kernel Temps

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by justinthegeek, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. justinthegeek

    justinthegeek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that we have new kernels with working temperatures, I was wondering what the average was. Mine is sitting at 105.8F idle.
     
  2. infinity8x3

    infinity8x3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Working temps on froyo kernels? If so where did you get them?
     
  3. justinthegeek

    justinthegeek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new kernels that P3Droid made have temps working. I'm looking at the cpu temp from SetCPU.
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Where'd you get the kernel. His page makes no mention of cpu temps.
     
  5. justinthegeek

    justinthegeek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Mayh3m

    Mayh3m Hoodie Ninja Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cpu temps are available from p3's kernals
     
  7. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    He states at the top part of that page "Processor temperature monitoring - requires separate program *Currently being worked on*"

    What you're reading is the battery temp or a false CPU reading.

    Besides, I'd be kernel switching quick if my CPU idle temp was 105.
     
  8. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Apparently the standard voltage kernels are reporting CPU temp. Well, at the 250-1250 kernel is. I loaded it just now and it is report CPU, not battery temp. It is updating properly. I did not check any of the other kernels.
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    The standard voltage 1.25Ghz kernel is reporting 77F at idle on my Droid. I'm running setcpu at 250-1250 with on demand set.
     
  10. justinthegeek

    justinthegeek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks like my low voltage temp is broke, I rebooted and now its -40. oh well...
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Standard voltage is not updating

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    The kernel that comes packaged in the Rom was reading correctly in SetCpu this morning when I first flashed Sapphire, made a backup and now the CPU reads -40F and doesn't change.
     
  13. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Bottom line is CPU Temp is not yet supported. I sort of wish they all said -40, then you would know it was bogus. Mine is at 77 F but I did a stress test for a few minutes and the temp didn't budge, so confirmed that it was a bogus reading.

    oh, I'm running the newest LV 1000 MHz kernel.
     
  14. junpar

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The p3droid kernels only update for a few minutes after a fresh boot. After that the CPU temperature does not update.
     
  15. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone try the app System Panel? It displays Chevy's kernel CPU temps.