Kernel Temps

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by justinthegeek, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Now that we have new kernels with working temperatures, I was wondering what the average was. Mine is sitting at 105.8F idle.
  2. infinity8x3
    Offline

    infinity8x3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working temps on froyo kernels? If so where did you get them?
  3. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The new kernels that P3Droid made have temps working. I'm looking at the cpu temp from SetCPU.
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Where'd you get the kernel. His page makes no mention of cpu temps.
  5. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  6. Mayh3m
    Offline

    Mayh3m Hoodie Ninja Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cpu temps are available from p3's kernals
  7. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    He states at the top part of that page "Processor temperature monitoring - requires separate program *Currently being worked on*"

    What you're reading is the battery temp or a false CPU reading.

    Besides, I'd be kernel switching quick if my CPU idle temp was 105.
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Apparently the standard voltage kernels are reporting CPU temp. Well, at the 250-1250 kernel is. I loaded it just now and it is report CPU, not battery temp. It is updating properly. I did not check any of the other kernels.
  9. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    The standard voltage 1.25Ghz kernel is reporting 77F at idle on my Droid. I'm running setcpu at 250-1250 with on demand set.
  10. justinthegeek
    Offline

    justinthegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    It looks like my low voltage temp is broke, I rebooted and now its -40. oh well...
  11. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Standard voltage is not updating

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    The kernel that comes packaged in the Rom was reading correctly in SetCpu this morning when I first flashed Sapphire, made a backup and now the CPU reads -40F and doesn't change.
  13. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Bottom line is CPU Temp is not yet supported. I sort of wish they all said -40, then you would know it was bogus. Mine is at 77 F but I did a stress test for a few minutes and the temp didn't budge, so confirmed that it was a bogus reading.

    oh, I'm running the newest LV 1000 MHz kernel.
  14. junpar
    Offline

    junpar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The p3droid kernels only update for a few minutes after a fresh boot. After that the CPU temperature does not update.
  15. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Anyone try the app System Panel? It displays Chevy's kernel CPU temps.
  16. PJnc284
    Offline

    PJnc284 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I idle between 78 and 82F. Don't think i've gone over 100F after installing P3's 800MHz kernel yesterday.
  17. validoption
    Offline

    validoption New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No it does not. There are two meters at the bottom, the top is the system stored battery reading and the second is the live battery reading. It is misleading because the top is marked "Battery" and the bottom "AK8973 Temperature sensor," however the AK8973 sensor is the battery sensor (you can cross-reference it against TempMonitor and you will see that this is the same battery temp sensor).