SetCPU - Where's the CPU temp??

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by altjx, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I had SetCPU before they leaked 2.2 to Motorola Droid and it used to show the CPU temp, but now with the leaked 2.2 Froyo FRE57 i believe, I'm using an OC kernel to 1.25GHz but in the SetCPU System Info, there's no CPU temperature in there. Trying to monitor my CPU temp
     
  2. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    batterylife and overclock widget are two other options that might display what you are looking for. Not sure if SetCPU displays the cpu temp though...I thought it was battery temp.
     
  3. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    With the SetCPU from when I was using it a few days ago, it showed the battery and the CPU temp, but now it only shows the battery temp.
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Here is my System Info, copied to clipboard...I saw nothing under CPU.

    But...you get nothing at all under System Info now, or just less info?

    ==========================================

    Kernel
    Linux version 2.6.29-omap1-g1c56172-dirty (adamz@ubuntu) (gcc version 4.4.0 (GCC) ) #6 PREEMPT Sun Mar 7 21:57:09 EST 2010
    Battery
    Battery Temp: 36.0° C (96.8° F)
    Battery Level: 10%
    OMAP3 Temp Sensor: Detected
    OMAP3 Temp: 41.0° C (105.8° F)
    CPU
    Frequency: 250000 kHz
    Load Average: 2.38 7.05 13.57 1/324 22336
    Processor : ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS : 249.15
    Features : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp thumbee neon vfpv3
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant : 0x1
    CPU part : 0xc08
    CPU revision : 3
    Hardware : sholes
    Revision : 0000
    Serial : 0000000000000000
    Memory
    MemTotal: 231000 kB
    MemFree: 3024 kB
    Buffers: 20 kB
    Cached: 34092 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 70692 kB
    Inactive: 94884 kB
    Active(anon): 63560 kB
    Inactive(anon): 68688 kB
    Active(file): 7132 kB
    Inactive(file): 26196 kB
    Unevictable: 272 kB
    Mlocked: 0 kB
    SwapTotal: 0 kB
    SwapFree: 0 kB
    Dirty: 0 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 131740 kB
    Mapped: 25072 kB
    Slab: 8432 kB
    SReclaimable: 1268 kB
    SUnreclaim: 7164 kB
    PageTables: 6760 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    WritebackTmp: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 115500 kB
    Committed_AS: 3330064 kB
    VmallocTotal: 139264 kB
    VmallocUsed: 59220 kB
    VmallocChunk: 36868 kB
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've used setcpu and I've never seen temp and battery life from it. You need Widgets for that. Maybe an app.
     
  6. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    When uKernel
    Linux version 2.6.32.9-P3Droid (pierce@MyDroidWorld) (gcc version 4.4.0 (GCC) ) #12 PREEMPT Sat Jun 5 08:39:15 MST 2010

    Battery
    Battery Temp: 34.0° C (93.2° F)
    Battery Level: 100%

    CPU
    Frequency: 1250000 kHz
    Load Average: 0.47 0.99 1.07 1/375 2114
    Processor : ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS : 1248.75
    Features : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant : 0x1
    CPU part : 0xc08
    CPU revision : 3

    Hardware : sholes
    Revision : 0000
    Serial : 0000000000000000

    Memory
    MemTotal: 231224 kB
    MemFree: 7940 kB
    Buffers: 8 kB
    Cached: 31844 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 69792 kB
    Inactive: 71288 kB
    Active(anon): 51952 kB
    Inactive(anon): 58356 kB
    Active(file): 17840 kB
    Inactive(file): 12932 kB
    Unevictable: 288 kB
    Mlocked: 0 kB
    SwapTotal: 0 kB
    SwapFree: 0 kB
    Dirty: 0 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 109524 kB
    Mapped: 57980 kB
    Shmem: 792 kB
    Slab: 8184 kB
    SReclaimable: 1736 kB
    SUnreclaim: 6448 kB
    KernelStack: 3000 kB
    PageTables: 8788 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    WritebackTmp: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 115612 kB
    Committed_AS: 3276032 kB
    VmallocTotal: 663552 kB
    VmallocUsed: 60436 kB
    VmallocChunk: 560132 kBsing Bugless Beast V1.1 I remember seeing two sections, one for Battery, one for CPU. But here is my System Info

    Used to have the temperature in the CPU section at the beginning. Hmm. that's weird.
     
  7. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ah wait. Maybe I confused OMAP3 temp sensor as the CPU sensor... Damn, that's crazy. By me overclocking to 1.25GHz, do I need to just pay attention to the battery temperature then?
     
  8. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not sure where to turn it on in SetCPU, I just looked so it appears to be a default setting, but I see temp. No battery life, but the Batterylife Widget does display temp.
     
  9. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmm, gotcha. I guess I shouldn't have to worry about anything then. I would assume and hope that if it does overheat, the phone could show symptoms such as rebooting. Guess we'll see, lol.
     
  10. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    yeah, that's the temp that if reached kicks in the Failsafe SetCPU profile.
     
  11. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yep. I've seen the failsafe warning come out a couple of times. That was before 2.2 though when the "performance" was the governor it automatically set for some reason. I use ondemand now though. Haven't had a failsafe warning with this governor yet. Maybe if I'm outdoors in the heat, but haven't yet.
     
  12. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    At 1.1ghz my phone ran fine. Tried 1.3 and it rebooted after being up for 5-10 seconds. After 5-6 of those I nandroid flashed back to my previous install.

    Had to try it, but of course I'm the one with wet paint on my fingertips because I need to touch to see if the sign is still correct:)
     
  13. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah, same here, lol. I tried 1.3 and it didn't make it past the M logo. So it seems like 1250 GHz is where it's gonna be maxed at for now =p.
     
  14. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Using the phone in the car as a gps I did discover the battery going lower and lower. The phone wasn't charging. I forget the temp now, I think it was 120F, but the phone doesn't charge above a certain temp. It probably knows that charging will add even more heat to the mix. I took it off the car mount and held it in front of the AC until it cooled down below 100F. I left it in the center console for the rest of that trip, out of the sun.
     
  15. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Wow. Actually, when I had my iPhone the GPS would make the phone hot as hell. Ever since then I've always had a habit of using the GPS, but only opening the app when I feel like I need to look at it again, just to avoid that heating issue too. I remember leaving the GPS run a whole trip and the phone was just too hot to pick up
     
Search tags for this page
arm v7 processor high temp
,
arm v7 processor rev 3
,
armv7 processor rev 2 v7l overclock
,

armv7 processor rev 3 v7l

,
armv7 processor rev 3 v7l overclock
,
content
,
is droid mx2 neon cpu
,
omap3 sensor monitor
,
omap3530+cpu temperature
,
widget cpu temp battery android