SetCPU - Where's the CPU temp??

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by altjx, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had SetCPU before they leaked 2.2 to Motorola Droid and it used to show the CPU temp, but now with the leaked 2.2 Froyo FRE57 i believe, I'm using an OC kernel to 1.25GHz but in the SetCPU System Info, there's no CPU temperature in there. Trying to monitor my CPU temp
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    batterylife and overclock widget are two other options that might display what you are looking for. Not sure if SetCPU displays the cpu temp though...I thought it was battery temp.
  3. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With the SetCPU from when I was using it a few days ago, it showed the battery and the CPU temp, but now it only shows the battery temp.
  4. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Here is my System Info, copied to clipboard...I saw nothing under CPU.

    But...you get nothing at all under System Info now, or just less info?

    ==========================================

    Kernel
    Linux version 2.6.29-omap1-g1c56172-dirty (adamz@ubuntu) (gcc version 4.4.0 (GCC) ) #6 PREEMPT Sun Mar 7 21:57:09 EST 2010
    Battery
    Battery Temp: 36.0° C (96.8° F)
    Battery Level: 10%
    OMAP3 Temp Sensor: Detected
    OMAP3 Temp: 41.0° C (105.8° F)
    CPU
    Frequency: 250000 kHz
    Load Average: 2.38 7.05 13.57 1/324 22336
    Processor : ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS : 249.15
    Features : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp thumbee neon vfpv3
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant : 0x1
    CPU part : 0xc08
    CPU revision : 3
    Hardware : sholes
    Revision : 0000
    Serial : 0000000000000000
    Memory
    MemTotal: 231000 kB
    MemFree: 3024 kB
    Buffers: 20 kB
    Cached: 34092 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 70692 kB
    Inactive: 94884 kB
    Active(anon): 63560 kB
    Inactive(anon): 68688 kB
    Active(file): 7132 kB
    Inactive(file): 26196 kB
    Unevictable: 272 kB
    Mlocked: 0 kB
    SwapTotal: 0 kB
    SwapFree: 0 kB
    Dirty: 0 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 131740 kB
    Mapped: 25072 kB
    Slab: 8432 kB
    SReclaimable: 1268 kB
    SUnreclaim: 7164 kB
    PageTables: 6760 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    WritebackTmp: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 115500 kB
    Committed_AS: 3330064 kB
    VmallocTotal: 139264 kB
    VmallocUsed: 59220 kB
    VmallocChunk: 36868 kB
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I've used setcpu and I've never seen temp and battery life from it. You need Widgets for that. Maybe an app.
  6. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When uKernel
    Linux version 2.6.32.9-P3Droid (pierce@MyDroidWorld) (gcc version 4.4.0 (GCC) ) #12 PREEMPT Sat Jun 5 08:39:15 MST 2010

    Battery
    Battery Temp: 34.0° C (93.2° F)
    Battery Level: 100%

    CPU
    Frequency: 1250000 kHz
    Load Average: 0.47 0.99 1.07 1/375 2114
    Processor : ARMv7 Processor rev 3 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS : 1248.75
    Features : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant : 0x1
    CPU part : 0xc08
    CPU revision : 3

    Hardware : sholes
    Revision : 0000
    Serial : 0000000000000000

    Memory
    MemTotal: 231224 kB
    MemFree: 7940 kB
    Buffers: 8 kB
    Cached: 31844 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 69792 kB
    Inactive: 71288 kB
    Active(anon): 51952 kB
    Inactive(anon): 58356 kB
    Active(file): 17840 kB
    Inactive(file): 12932 kB
    Unevictable: 288 kB
    Mlocked: 0 kB
    SwapTotal: 0 kB
    SwapFree: 0 kB
    Dirty: 0 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    AnonPages: 109524 kB
    Mapped: 57980 kB
    Shmem: 792 kB
    Slab: 8184 kB
    SReclaimable: 1736 kB
    SUnreclaim: 6448 kB
    KernelStack: 3000 kB
    PageTables: 8788 kB
    NFS_Unstable: 0 kB
    Bounce: 0 kB
    WritebackTmp: 0 kB
    CommitLimit: 115612 kB
    Committed_AS: 3276032 kB
    VmallocTotal: 663552 kB
    VmallocUsed: 60436 kB
    VmallocChunk: 560132 kBsing Bugless Beast V1.1 I remember seeing two sections, one for Battery, one for CPU. But here is my System Info

    Used to have the temperature in the CPU section at the beginning. Hmm. that's weird.
  7. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah wait. Maybe I confused OMAP3 temp sensor as the CPU sensor... Damn, that's crazy. By me overclocking to 1.25GHz, do I need to just pay attention to the battery temperature then?
  8. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Not sure where to turn it on in SetCPU, I just looked so it appears to be a default setting, but I see temp. No battery life, but the Batterylife Widget does display temp.
  9. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, gotcha. I guess I shouldn't have to worry about anything then. I would assume and hope that if it does overheat, the phone could show symptoms such as rebooting. Guess we'll see, lol.
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    yeah, that's the temp that if reached kicks in the Failsafe SetCPU profile.
  11. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I've seen the failsafe warning come out a couple of times. That was before 2.2 though when the "performance" was the governor it automatically set for some reason. I use ondemand now though. Haven't had a failsafe warning with this governor yet. Maybe if I'm outdoors in the heat, but haven't yet.
  12. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    At 1.1ghz my phone ran fine. Tried 1.3 and it rebooted after being up for 5-10 seconds. After 5-6 of those I nandroid flashed back to my previous install.

    Had to try it, but of course I'm the one with wet paint on my fingertips because I need to touch to see if the sign is still correct:)
  13. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, same here, lol. I tried 1.3 and it didn't make it past the M logo. So it seems like 1250 GHz is where it's gonna be maxed at for now =p.
  14. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Using the phone in the car as a gps I did discover the battery going lower and lower. The phone wasn't charging. I forget the temp now, I think it was 120F, but the phone doesn't charge above a certain temp. It probably knows that charging will add even more heat to the mix. I took it off the car mount and held it in front of the AC until it cooled down below 100F. I left it in the center console for the rest of that trip, out of the sun.
  15. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow. Actually, when I had my iPhone the GPS would make the phone hot as hell. Ever since then I've always had a habit of using the GPS, but only opening the app when I feel like I need to look at it again, just to avoid that heating issue too. I remember leaving the GPS run a whole trip and the phone was just too hot to pick up
  16. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    The dash is black, the phone is black, the sun was shining, it was hot outside. AC was on vents, not on defrost. Even trying defrost didn't help as the air headed up the windshield and missed where the phone was mounted.
  17. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That sucks. I'm glad that with all the overclocking, that I haven't had anything melt and ruin hardware. If that happened, I'd probably be heading for the EVO. this ETF is the only thing holding me back
  18. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    It wasn't a big deal. I noticed the battery was getting low during a 2 hr ride. Then I realized it wasn't charging. I thought the car charger wasn't working. I switched off of GPS to see if my battery widget (batteryLife) was displaying the icon saying the charger was plugged in and it was, but no charging icon on the battery widget nor the notification pull down bar. Then I noticed the temp. That's the only time it ever got that hot. I won't be leaving it in the sun in the car mount again. I don't need to "see" the map for turn by turn directions to work and can always glance down. Having it at dash level is preferred, but meltdowns are not:)
  19. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. I thought of getting some accessories for it but I'm usually changing phones a lot. Might get a dock for it soon :p
  20. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Not sure if that OMAP3 sensor is directly on the CPU, but its heat scales up and down as quickly as the CPU should, it is directly related to the CPU temp if it is not the temp itself. When i set failsafe @ 55c it would scale down my CPU when the OMAP3 temp reached my setting, it wasnt the battery, my battery never gets near that temp. But yeah, that OMAP sensor rises quickly under load and drops quickly afterward, just like a processor would on a PC, that is what we need to watch, not batt temp, not saying you should disregard battery alltogether.
Similar Threads
  1. droijo
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    788
  2. otakus
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    8,101
  3. aldrichg9
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,069
  4. heavyvino
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,443
  5. drpaul07
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,060
Loading...
Search tags for this page
arm v7 processor high temp
,
arm v7 processor rev 3
,
armv7 processor rev 2 v7l overclock
,

armv7 processor rev 3 v7l

,
armv7 processor rev 3 v7l overclock
,
armv7 processor temperature
,

content

,
cpu android widget
,
is droid mx2 neon cpu
,
omap3 sensor monitor
,
omap3530+cpu temperature
,
widget cpu temp battery android