Is there a App to make phone calls using Data instead of voice?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by droid master, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. droid master
    Offline

    droid master Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have crappy reception in my basement and i was wondering if there was a app like skype that used Data 3G instead of Voice?
     
  2. droid master
    Offline

    droid master Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone Have a solution to my problem?
     
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, there is google voice if you set it up correctly but no, phone and data are two different things. You can set up your google voice number to be on your friends and family list if you want to avoid air time charges but that's about it.
     
  4. QMaverick
    Offline

    QMaverick Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's a question: why doesn't anyone have a VoIP solution for Android? I thought with open source and data speeds what they are now-a-days, this would rocket out of the gate.

    At least give me a VoIP program that works on WiFi . . .
     
  5. timrenzi573
    Offline

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    sipdroid - Project Hosting on SIP/VoIP client for Android + http://pbxes.org - this is what I use for international calls for work. Works great when I'm travelling overseas since I don't have a GSM phone as well - anywhere I have wifi (hotel + conference centers where I spend 99% of my time)

    Market version is wifi only - download directly from website for wifi/3g/2g capable version.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  6. QMaverick
    Offline

    QMaverick Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I never really got how to set up sipdroid though, if you could help me out with that, or point me in the right direction, that'd be awesome.
     
  7. timrenzi573
    Offline

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Just need to setup a sip account (i have one with smsdiscount, one of the betamax companies) and then set it up as a trunk in your pbxes account. See attached screenshots (my username/password for smsdiscount removed) for the trunk & outbound routing config for pbxes. You'd just use the connection details for your sip provider (username/password/server name or ip)

    In sipdroid you just punch in your userinfo for pbxes like this:

    username-extension
    password

    so if your username was droiduser, and the default extension is 100 (it is)

    droiduser-100
    yourpassword

    Edit: added screencap of sipdroid config as well.

    you can also get a free DID from ipkall and point it at your pbxes account for incoming calls.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  8. QMaverick
    Offline

    QMaverick Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I will look into it! :)
     
  9. timrenzi573
    Offline

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you end up getting confused/frustrated, let me know and we can arrange some time where I can go and set it up for you (you can change your password in pbxes then change it back after) Good luck!
     
  10. droid321
    Offline

    droid321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have the same issue and am trying to figure this out before I leave the country next month. Assuming I make an account with smsdiscount, what rates am I looking at when traveling to the country Armenia and calling the US? The rates shown are as follows... (second rate includes VAT)

    Armenia (Landline)0.055 0.065 Armenia (Mobile)0.085 0.101
    are these the rates I should be looking at? Or should I be looking at the US rates? Would you be willing to help me set this up as well if I have any trouble? Thank you!!

    **also, would my Google Voice account serve any useful purpose in all of this?
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  11. timrenzi573
    Offline

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rates you want to look at are for the country you're calling to, not the country you're calling from. So you'd be paying the US rate, which as far as I remember on smsdiscount is like half a cent a minute or something like that?

    If you do decide to use smsdiscount (or one of the other betamax companies, there like 30 of them) your trunk settings should be the same as mine in the screenshots - sip.poivy.com and then use the username and password you setup with them.

    Edit: I have no idea if you can use google voice as a pbxes trunk - someone else can maybe answer that.
     
  12. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Great thread! (now subscribed)
     
  13. droid321
    Offline

    droid321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thank you for your help Tim! After 3 days of messing with this, I have finally got sipdroid to work with Google Voice. I'm not sure if video works but I can make and receive calls. Here is a document on how to do it:

    Unlimited Free Calling with Google Voice - Google Docs

    Lots of good info and scroll down to
    9. SIP Sorcery Integration with IPKall


    for step by step instructions. Goodluck and let me know if you have any questions.
     
  14. timrenzi573
    Offline

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to hear it!
     
  15. QMaverick
    Offline

    QMaverick Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I seem to have sipdroid bound with my SIP Sorcery account...umm...how do I get it to work with Google Voice? I'm lost at this point, and the document didn't really seem to help.

    I'm a bit clueless when it comes to this as I have never done it--I'm a quick learner with a little help though! :)

    Edit: I fiddled around with this and seem to have it working--when I called my friend's phone with SIPDroid, I showed up as my Google Voice phone number. Now, since I only have WLAN selected as a calling option, the call was made over WiFi, correct? If I make an international call with my GV account linked like I have it to SIP Sorcery, will it use Google Voice's international rates?

    Thanks again!
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2010
Search tags for this page
how to make calls with data
,
how to make phone calls using data
,
how to use data to make calls
,
is there an app to make phone calls
,
make calls over data
,
make phone calls using data
,
phone calls using data
,
use data to make calls
,

use data to make phone calls

,
using data to make phone calls