Is there a way to tell apps to use Google Voice for SMS?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by nighthawk700, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. nighthawk700
    Offline

    nighthawk700 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't have SMS service on my Droid, but I do have Google Voice. I'm testing out a Geocaching app that lets you send an SMS with information about your latest find. Is there a way to "tell" apps not to use the standard SMS, but use Google Voice instead?

    (and sorry, I don't have invites available)

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. There's certainly no option to do so (at the moment anyway).
     
  3. cabotcat
    Offline

    cabotcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe no app but you can certainly accomplish this task by signing onto your GV account through the Droids web browser.
     
  4. nighthawk700
    Offline

    nighthawk700 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    But how would that allow they third party app I have to send the SMS via Google Voice?
     
  5. cabotcat
    Offline

    cabotcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would not allow your ap to send the SMS. I may have misunderstood your query. I was under the impression that you desired to send SMS messages without charge. If this is the case you can accomplish this task provided you have Google Voice and navigate to your account via a web browser.
     
  6. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    ... even then your suggestion is, well... not good... why go through your browser instead of just using the Google Voice APP?
     
  7. cabotcat
    Offline

    cabotcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just trying to offer suggestions. If you have an answer for the OP by all means speak up.
     
  8. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    It was already answered in the post above yours. But there is a 'work-around' that he can try.

    OP you can send 'txts' through email to phones all major carriers. So if the app you are using supports email in addition to txt you can send it to people as a txt with your email client. To try it have GV forward txts to your emails. You'll see that the email you receive has a return address that will look pretty weird (it should show the persons phone number followed by their carriers required address). To make thinks easier as people send you txts from now on just send their email-txt address to their contact. This is the method I use almost exclusively for txts (i.e. they are all handled via my email client and not the GV app).

    (how's that cabotcat?):icon_ devil:
     
  9. nighthawk700
    Offline

    nighthawk700 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If there's no way to do it, no problem. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something. If I get a chance I'll look up where Google Voice takes suggestions, maybe there is a way to make their app become the "default" SMS program.
     
  10. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    does the Geocaching app support email? If so see above (sorry, you responded while I was typing the reply). That should work, if not you might like if for normal txting in general with GV (I don't have VZW txting either, this way you/I only have to mess with one app, that being the email client).
     
  11. cabotcat
    Offline

    cabotcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Little Rock AR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whatever blows your skirt.
     
  12. masters
    Offline

    masters Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    94565
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not believe there is a way...

    The OP has App-A (say for simplicity) you push a big red button and it sends a text message.. They want that text message to go out through Google Voice NOT as a normal text message through Verizon.
     
  13. Royal2000H
    Offline

    Royal2000H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm pretty sure the button in App A doesn't send the text, but sends him to the messaging app with the text pre-filled in, though I may be wrong..
    Not really a good solution or workaround, but maybe let it open the messaging app and then copy paste into google voice?
     
  14. nighthawk700
    Offline

    nighthawk700 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was under the impression it was automatically sent. I didn't test because I don't want the SMS charge. But might try out one just to see. First I have to find a new cache. ;-)