Is something wrong with ICS

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by grgguy, May 11, 2012.

  1. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Maybe someone can answer this for me . I'm in no hurry to get ICS , however whats the deal with it taking so long? Is there something inherently wrong with it? How many phones actually run it as stock (without rooting/modding)? It seems like even the new phones coming out aren't even using it. There all debuting with GB. Just makes me wonder is all . Inquiring minds want to know!
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been curious about this myself, seeing as they seem to be having difficulty getting it 100% correct on the GNex, let alone other devices. I am starting to wonder if there is more to the delay that meets the eye.
  3. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    No Moto is just probably trying to make it work with the Razor, the Maxx, and the (yet unreleased) HD

    If you have never had a Moto phone before they are always slow.
  4. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal


    Why are they TRYING? Doesn't google release it ready to go? I'm not an IT guy an any way but somethings wrong here.
  5. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Google releases source code. That does not mean its ready to go on every handset. Moto has their Blur to integrate, and Verizon has to test stability to meet their standards. Its different than the Nexus devices as they run stock vanilla Android. The OEMs have to integrate it and add to it.

    Be happy you will get ICE....us D3 users were left in the lurch on this.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
  6. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal

    Ok so its a blur/ verizon issue. Hmm same story different day.
  7. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ive kinda thought how cool it would be to actually personally know one of the guys who works at motorola, specifically one that is tasked to getting ics on the bionic. Just call him up be like "bro, whats the real story?" I know i know i bet those guys have a nondisclosure type deal, but still, id bet if one of those guys was a real close friend hed still tell. Wish one of the many people on the inside that knew what was really going on could just give us the skinny on this and many other things.



    Sent from my Droid BIONIC via DroidForums
  8. dfcfu342
    Offline

    dfcfu342 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Xoom wifi (has no affiliations other than Motorola) had ICS the month it was released with blur on it so its clearly not moto that is the problem. The finger pointing should all be at Verizon who are manipulating the releases to push sales of certain phones. There is a fully working ICS leaked for the Razr and Verizon has yet to allow its release.
  9. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not just blur, they also have to get it working with the hardware...drivers and such. That could be quick and easy, but there could be problems worth that which will slow the process down.

    I still think they should have been able to release by now.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  10. AdamPA1006
    Offline

    AdamPA1006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been messing with some ICS Roms and I can tell you guys that even just the new UI alone is worth it. None of the ICS Roms have been stable enough yet (most have broken data) but atleast seeing it has definitely made me want it. Ill keep you guys posted if any ICS Roms really get working, but too bad the Bionic got left in the dust for the RAZR and other phones.
  11. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    If im not mistaken its not so much the sale of phones rather its contracts they care about. You think they'd consider having a wider range of ics phones would land them more contracts both new and upgrades.

    Sent from my Droid BIONIC via DroidForums
  12. dfcfu342
    Offline

    dfcfu342 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But why upgrade the Bionic to ICS and have a cheap lte ICS phone when you can hold it on gingerbread and keep pushing the MAXX for a higher price?

    I doubt we'll see ICS until the RAZR and MAXX become free phones.
  13. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
  14. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    The OG Droid came out with Eclair in Nov 2009. It didn't get Froyo until August 2010. Other phones came out, but it still got Froyo. We can still get ICS, but I'm not chomping at the bit to get it.
  15. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal

    +1
    sad but true
  16. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
  17. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I might be wrong, but I believe verizon loses money on the device cost. While I'd guess they probably don't pay full retail, there cost is more than what they charge. Example a new razr with 2 yr contract is 200. But Verizon pays closer to retail price for the phone. They lose initially on the phone cost, but get your business for 2 years. Thats part of the reason breaking contract costs so much, so they can at least make up for the loss when they sold the phone.

    My logic is more devices with ICS means more people signing a new or upgraded two year contracts. The Price of razrs have less to do with verizon making money because of how much the razr costs and more with how much more desired a razr is. Its the "hot item" to the majority consumer.

    Of course i also think how most people don't know what ICS is or why it matters to them.

    This is what happens when stuff like ics for the bionic doesnt happen right away.....i waste my time trying to reverse engineer verizons market strategy.

    Sent from my Droid BIONIC via DroidForums
  18. dfcfu342
    Offline

    dfcfu342 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not arguing with anything you said in fact you even backed me up a bit. Verizon has been pushing the RAZR hard through advertising and even just walking in the store they steer you straight to the RAZR. That is their flagship phone. Verizon does lose on every phone they sell but they certainly make it back up in monthly payments.

    Back to topic no, nothing is wrong with ICS for Bionic. Its just being held by Big Red for some unknown reason.
  19. AdamPA1006
    Offline

    AdamPA1006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know if at&t is any better with this stuff? This is horrible. Guess ill go install that new ICS theme they posted on the main page. Eclipse 2.2 let's roll.....

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using the Droid Forums App
  20. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    Perhaps ICS is taking so long because VZW is adding a crapware removal utility which allows you to pay to keep crapware off. Nah, they would never take a cue from the thousands of apps that allow you to pay to get rid of ads....