I may have found 4G toggle?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by lantzalot, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you know if you have toggled off 4G on the Thunderbolt? Will it no longer show "4G LTE" next to the signal bars? If that's accurate and that indicates coming off the 4G network then I think I have found a built in widget that lets you do it. I don't necessarily consider myself tech-savvy because I think I more or less stumbled on it while experimenting with the features of the phone. Let me know if I'm not on the right track here or if I'm wasting anyone's time. I will post how to do it if anyone thinks that if the "4G" indicator is off that your are, in fact off the 4G network. Thanks.
     
  2. meepstone

    meepstone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is if it doesnt say 4g lte then your not connected to the network for 4g at all
     
  3. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home-->Menu-->Personalize-->Widget-->Settings-->Mobile Network

    Add the widget, then you can toggle. I apologize in advance if this has already been tried. When I use this widget to toggle 4G, my notification bar no longer shows "4G". Let me know if I'm on the right track. Thanks.
     
  4. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think that just toggles all mobile data. Meaning 4g, 3g, and 1x all turn on and off. Not just 4g. WiFi should still work though.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  5. joewilly013

    joewilly013 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What you found is actually the toggle for mobile network on/off, not 4G vs 3G.

    As far as a 4g toggle, the "phone info" app let's users change the preferred network settings to CDMA only which effectively is a 4G / 3G toggle for now

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  6. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, I believe you are correct. Rats. Sorry and thanks.
     
  7. sik

    sik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    The way to shut off 4g was found already in dialer type *#*#4636#*#* go into phone info and switch to cdma only :)
     
  8. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup. Dialing *#*#4636#*#* brings you to the same menu as the phone info app. Select "cdma auto (prl) and you'll be golden.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  9. kjg26

    kjg26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what does the MN toggle do?
     
  10. camaroguy41208

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Switch to cdma only or cdma auto?

    words from my thunderbolt
     
  11. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cdma auto (PRL) is the one you want (3g and 1x).


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. camaroguy41208

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. Thanks.

    words from my thunderbolt
     
Search tags for this page
4s 4g toggle
,
4g galaxy s3 how do i know if i am connected 3g or 4g
,

htc thunderbolt 4g indicator

,
imay 4g
,

thunderbolt 4g indicator

,
thunderbolt 4g indicatyor