Method to disable 4g

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by mm81, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, which is what mine does in 3G territory too but when I use this toggle there is nothing but bars...no 4G, no 3G. Maybe it's 2G?
     
  2. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may have found 4G toggle?

    How do you know if you have toggled off 4G on the Thunderbolt? Will it no longer show "4G LTE" next to the signal bars? If that's accurate and that indicates coming off the 4G network then I think I have found a built in widget that lets you do it. I don't necessarily consider myself tech-savvy because I think I more or less stumbled on it while experimenting with the features of the phone. Let me know if I'm not on the right track here or if I'm wasting anyone's time. I will post how to do it if anyone thinks that if the "4G" indicator is off that your are, in fact off the 4G network. Thanks.
     
  3. lantzalot

    lantzalot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CMH 4G
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, missed a step...
    here you go...

    Home-->Menu-->Personalize-->Widget-->Settings-->Auto-rotate. That worked for me.

    Let me know if that works for you. This is also how I may have found how to toggle 4G. Go to "Mobile Network" from the same screen in which you find "Auto-rotate".
     
  4. harrierrx300

    harrierrx300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I downloaded Network Mangelow and I was able to turn off 4G. We'll see how it saves the battery on just 3G alone. Quick question: What does the following mean?

    CDMA auto (PRL) set on
    CDMA only
    EvDo only
    CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto
    LTE mode
     
  5. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    CDMA +LTE/EvDo is the default setting which includes the 4g radio, CDMA auto (PRL) is what you want if you want to disable 4g but leave 3g and 1x on.

    Lantzalot, the mobile data toggle you found disables all mobile data (4g, 3g, and 1x), not just 4g.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  6. harrierrx300

    harrierrx300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. wallstreet123456

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    An App called "phone Info" does turn off 4G.

    I have been using it and I am happy with the results so far.
     
  8. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, that's what I've been using as well. Network Mangelow does the same thing.


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  9. merpaderp

    merpaderp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    D-M-V
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's a trick for easy access to the 4G toggle screen w/o the use of another app:

    AFTER you dial *#*#4636#*#*, you can access it another way if you don't wanna have to keep dialing to change the settings.

    Just drag down and expand the notification bar up top and it'll show you all of the applications you've recently entered... along with all of your notifications.

    The application is called "Testing" and the icon will resemble the Settings Icon. Tapping this icon will bring you to the same screen as dialing that number.
     
  10. harrierrx300

    harrierrx300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice.... what's LTE mode, btw?
     
  11. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    LTE only. No 3g or 1x.


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  12. atmcgill97

    atmcgill97 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm confused. which one is 3g only and which one is 4g and 3g?
     
Search tags for this page
code to disable 4g
,
disable 4g network at i-phone 5
,
droid charge disable 4g
,
how to disable 4g on thunderbolt alternative method
,
how to use network mangelow for avid 4g
,
selectively disabling 4g
,
thunderbolt turn off 4g
,

what does *#*#4636#*#* mean

,
what does cdma auto prl mean
,
what does lte auto means on network mode