HOWTO: Flash The Droid To Any Network (PRL)

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by ObsidianX, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. ObsidianX
    Offline

    ObsidianX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so after much digging around various forums I think I'll write a howto for self-flashing the Motorola Droid. Keep in mind all I've got so far is the PRL flashing so if you've gotten that far this isn't for you. I'll update this as I go to hopefully get a fully flashed (and open method) phone.

    Required Software:
    • Motorola USB Driver (Found here)
    • HW Virtual Serial Port (Found here)
    • CMDA Workshop (Can be found... wandering the net...)

    Step 1: Enable Diagnostic Mode

    In order to flash any information to the phone it needs to be running in Diagnostic Mode. To accomplish this we need to first turn the phone off, but to make it easier plug the USB cable in before you do. Then press and hold the 't' key and then turn the phone on. Although I don't know for sure, don't let go of the 't' key until you see the "DROID" animation start up. On your computer a new device will appear and Windows will install it as a Motorola USB Network Device. If you run 'ipconfig' in the command prompt you'll see a new network device with an assigned IP address kinda like 192.168.16.1 (this is what I had). Keep this IP in mind.

    Step 2: Create a Virtual Serial Port

    So now that you've got your phone connected you have to have a way of accessing it. All of the software that is used to write to CDMA phones and the likes utilize the COM ports so we'll have to make our own!

    Fire up HW VSP and click the Login button. As it says on the bottom of the window, the default password is "admin". Navigate to the Settings tab and UNCHECK the setting called NVT Enabled. Leave everything else as-is and go back to the Virtual Serial Port tab. Select a COM port to utilize (I'd recommend a higher one to avoid possible conflicts) and then recall the IP that you found in the previous step. If your IP was 192.168.16.1 (like mine) then you'll type in 192.168.16.2 as the IP address to connect to. So the general rule (as I've gathered) is to increment your IP by one and you'll find the phone. Finally put 11008 as the port number and click Create.

    Step 3: Using CDMA Workshop and Flashing

    When you first start CDMA Workshop you'll be on the "Main" tab which contains the connection settings. Under COM Settings (AT Mode) you'll have to change the Port to the COM Port you selected in the previous step. Leave the Baud rate at 115200 and then click Connect.

    The status bar on the bottom will say something along the lines "Connected to COM5 port successfully". Now you'll need to navigate to the Security tab and under SPC type in 000000 in the box. Next click SPC -> Send. This will unlock the phone for editing. A dialog will pop up to let you know as well ;)

    Finally we need to head on over to the Other tab where you'll find the PRL section. I would recommend Reading the NAM1 out of your phone before you do anything in case you need to restore the original settings. I named mine after the actual PRL version (51831) and you can find your version in the Settings -> About phone -> Status section of your phone.

    After you've saved it Feel free to flash any PRL from any network you want into NAM1 to become a member of that network. You can find PRL's on HowardForums: Your Mobile Phone Community & Resource (as well as most of the information I've collected).

    After flashing, quit CDMA Workshop and it will ask if you wish to send Mode Reset to the phone to apply changes (this restarts the phone) say yes and watch the Droid reboot. After it comes back, dial *228 on the phone and follow your carrier's instructions for updating the PRL to the latest version. This is also your way of verifying your flash worked.


    KEEP IN MIND THIS THREAD:HowardForums: Your Mobile Phone Community & Resource - Esn Adding and Flashing.

    I'll update this post as I go along in order to (hopefully) write a complete guide.
  2. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Cool write up! What is the bennifit of doing this? So you can run the Droid on another network?
  3. ObsidianX
    Offline

    ObsidianX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah,

    I want to be able to use MetroPCS on my Droid. I walked in and asked a guy at a MetroPCS store and they told me that HoudiniSoft doesn't support the Droid yet so he doesn't know quite how people are doing it. He suggested a donor ESN from a network phone which I've been trying to figure out.
  4. PrinceJason
    Offline

    PrinceJason New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ObsidianX, I am in the Atlanta MetroPCS area and am thinking about the same thing. The only thing is, your a couple of paces ahead of me because I haven't decided if I am buying an HTC Eris or a Motorola Droid. I have done quite a bit of research though. One of the many things I have learned is that you have to take what a store salesman says with a grain of salt. My experiences with getting answers to technical questions as been fruitless as I had to finally email a MetroPCS Operations Executive for answers.

    If you still want to attempt to provision your ESN/MEID, then there are plenty of sellers on Ebay, who are MetroPCS authorized resellers who will provision your SID/MEID using HoudiniSoft for a price. I think this is better than cloning the MEID's and risking (although minor) instability in the connection between your handset and the base station (cell tower). Some of the sellers that have MetroPCS provisioning listings on Ebay are: vfcmiami, unlimitedmetroflash, pawnbuyguy, trustedwholecell, koala483, and global-wireless3g-1. Ofcourse, I don't see the Motorola Droid's model number A855 on in the Houdini supported list - http://helpdesk.houdinisoft.com/approved_handsets.pdf However, the list was almost posted almost three months ago. I haven't personal used any of the aforementioned sellers sevices but vfcmiami has a website claiming he will even provide you with a MetroPCS QPay receipt after he provisions it using Houdini - Services.

    Were you able to upgrade to Andriod 2.1 or is the handset at 2.01?
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
  5. ObsidianX
    Offline

    ObsidianX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, thanks for the info! I was actually considering purchasing a HoudiniSoft master account to port the ESN (and the other ESN's I will be doing) myself.

    As far as the android version, I had this phone rooted with a CyanogenMod ROM installed within 15 minutes of opening it :) So yes, I'm running 2.1 at the moment.

    If it turns out that I can move ESN's over without any problems I may start up a super-cheap service of porting just the ESN for people and then letting them do the rest.
  6. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is really great info. i doubt i will ever need to do this (unless i get kicked off verizon for tethering..jk) but its good to know, and really cool.
  7. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could someone please post the current verizon prl please?
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    Trophy Points:
    113
    good tutorial
  9. kingj75
    Offline

    kingj75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help

    When im doing step 2 mines says error?
  10. mrebanza
    Offline

    mrebanza New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks so much . . . I followed the instructions but it didn't work for me . . . does the phone have to be rooted first???

    I need my droid on metro pcs too!!!!

    I first flash with a copy of CDMA workshop 2.* . . . It didn't reboot the phone so I had to do it manually . . . When the droid came back on it listed the wireless carrier as "Extended Network" instead of "Verizon Wireless" on the lock screen.

    I got so excited but then when I tried to "active" the droid and make a call I was routed to Verizon :mad:

    I am not sure what I am doing wrong . . . has anyone got this up and running on Merto PCS or anything other than VZ?????
  11. metroflash
    Offline

    metroflash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. missing2
    Offline

    missing2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the write up it worked like a charm. After i loaded the metro prl it rebooted, i then dialed 611 and it went to metropcs. Does this mean it's ready to be activated after having the esn added? Or are there other settings that have to be changed?
  13. metroflash
    Offline

    metroflash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ##program send and edit mdn and min
  14. missing2
    Offline

    missing2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks i got that. Would you happen to know what the CDMA Sys ID should be? I accidentally changed that to 11 somehow
  15. bmikerecords
    Offline

    bmikerecords New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey man im stuck at part 3 can u help me out it keeps saying that it fails to connect to phone but it connects to the com

    im using rooted 2.2 droid
  16. designate72
    Offline

    designate72 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On step one, when rebooting my phone holding t i get a bootloader menu that says:

    Bootloader
    2C.6C




    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Transfer Mode:
    USB

    . ipconfig shows no new device and the motorola firmware does not install. 2.2 rooted droid on verizon
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  17. kalifa
    Offline

    kalifa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question about a flashed droid

    I payed a guy 85 bucks on Buena park, orange, CA to flash my droid to metro. he did it successfully and even root it. when i asked him can i use the theter function he basically told me that it would work but he couldnt show me how to do it since he did not had his laptop with him. his answer was: "there is many different ways of using the droid as a modem like connecting the USB port on the computer"
    My first question is: Can the tether function be used with metro PCS so i can acces the internet on my laptop by using my Droid? Yes the droid is running superuser (wich i dont even know what that is) and has the tether instaled.
    Second question: Since its flashed would me resetting the phone wipe my Metro PCS connection?
    Third question: where can i get some free aps for my rooted phone?
    Fourth question: If i root the phone again would the Metro PCS flash go bye bye?
    As you guys might already realize i am no genius... any feedback would help.
    BTW the phone's internet and text and apps like the navigation system are running fine.
  18. ashleydoesit
    Offline

    ashleydoesit New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    los angeles
    I'm stuck too.
    I get to SPC > Send and it says Failed.. Phone does not answer.
    I have it running 2.2, don't know if that makes a difference.
    Also I'm not sure if I'm supposed to have MetroPcs service already??
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!
  19. napster
    Offline

    napster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well im running 2.1 and still got that error a couple of times. Make sure your connected to the right port - my computer, right click, properties, device manager, under network it should tell you...When i dial *611 it goes to metro service but i havent messed with the esn. What do i do? thanx
  20. dredadevil
    Offline

    dredadevil New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    flashing to metro pcs in jersey.

    so is it possible to have it work in jersey? I had mine flashed in florida by this guy and he said it might not work up here. so what can i do to get this thing working? I turned it on and the droid logo came up and when i tried to call my tmobile, the verizon message came up. What should i do and is it possible to flash over to cricket or boost?:blackdroid:
Search tags for this page

droid x boost mobile

,

droid x on boost mobile

,

flash droid to boost mobile

,

flash droid x to boost mobile

,

flash prl to droid

,
houdinisoft username and password
,
how to flash droid x to boost mobile
,
hw virtual serial port
,

hw virtual serial port droid

,

hw virtual serial port droid x

,

hw virtual serial port motorola droid

,
verizon prl download