Can someone confirm 3g mode?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Miklb58, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +194
    On ICS, I could set wireless mode to CDMA auto (PRL) using the LTE On/Off app or going into settings via "*#*#4636#*#*"
    Then looking in Settings-->More-->Mobile Networks, then click on Network mode, a box pops up with 3 radio buttons, NONE OF WHICH WERE LIT.
    Now on JB, even though I set the network mode as above, to CDMA auto (PRL), under settings, the LTE/CDMA radio button is lit.
    I don't live in a 4g area, so I can't test this to see if it really is turning the 4g off.
    Has anyone who is in a 4g area, set their Maxx to CDMA auto (PRL), and if so, does it really force your phone into 3g?
     
    #1 Miklb58, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2013
  2. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes LTE on/off will work. Foxkat confirmed it today in one of the threads.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
     
  3. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +194
    :( :( I just love it when the answers are not to the question.....
     
  4. NWRULES

    NWRULES Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I live in a full 4g area and have the lte on/off app. To confirm, yes it does still work on jelly bean. Turn it to cdma auto at work every day
     
  5. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +194
    EDIT to my original post.
    The original post must have been too lengthy and confusing, so my question is not being answered.

    I was NOT asking if LTE On/Off works...


    I am asking,
    Has anyone who is in a 4g area confirmed that on JB;
    Setting your Maxx to CDMA auto (PRL) does turn 4g off?
     
  6. NWRULES

    NWRULES Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I knew what you were asking, but I guess my bad for not having a more clear response? Yes, on JB, it's turns off 4g when set to cdma auto. Cheers :)
     
  7. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +194
    Great, thanks for answering!! :)
     
  8. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +85
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P (VZ) & S7 Edge (TMO)
    I though you answered the question just fine....wonder what was so confusing about it.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +194
    His, and the other poster answered that "the lte on/off app" work.
    I knew the app works, but since under settings my phone still says it is on LTE/CDMA, I do not know if it is truly switching to 3g only. On ICS, none of the radio buttons were lit when I was set to CDMA auto (PRL)
     
Search tags for this page

3g mode

,

android cdma mode a 3g network

,

cdma 3g droid x

,

cdma+auto+prl sch-i535

,

force cdma auto prl on galaxy s3

,

force htc dna into 3g only