[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    No thanks. LTE burns battery and 3G is fast enough to make me happy. If the phone had 4G I'd probably have it off all of the time. Also, it would make the phone bulkier.
     
  2. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes ensure you do a chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su

    I now have Titanium installed and running backups. I just have to get a list of the apps I need to boot off :)
     
  3. Pleirosei

    Pleirosei Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has 4g been bad on every 4g device?

    Jesus is the Christ
     
  4. Tepes

    Tepes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't wait to try this tonight! HUZZAH!

    Sent from my Hitchhiker's Guide mark 2
     
  5. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    yes it does, thanks for reminding me I forgot that part.. adding now


     
  6. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think 4g has been bad on every device just very taxing on some of the devices. My area will have 4g next month but I'm fine with 3g. I may replace my work BB with a Nexus or Bionic depending on what VZW will be carrying.
     
  7. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering... Did su and superuser files get forgotten on the instructions (it says they are attached)....or am I missing them

    EDIT: still waiting on ADB to finish installing...damn throttled work internet
     
  8. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,987
    Likes Received:
    4,351
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,876
    Ill merge your post with mine in the op. The issues is we were seeing threads pop up back to back about the same thing. Being the methods are based on the same method I will keep the conversation merged. I expect by beginning of next week we will see a one click root method released to the masses.
     
  10. mrailing

    mrailing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite an easy root, I have mine rooted now. Removing my bloatware with Titanium Backup now...
     
  11. spillner

    spillner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is their any chance we can get a youtube video on how to do this? I've rooted my D1 but never did it through ADB, a little nervous here.
     
  12. Mungo Baobab

    Mungo Baobab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure what I am missing, but I get a device not found when I run the adb shell. Should the D3 be in a special USB mode, ie PC mode or USB etc. I never had trouble using the ADB shell command with my OG droid or the xoom.
     
    #24 Mungo Baobab, Aug 25, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,
how to root droid3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid3
,
root droid 3
,
root your droid 3