[HOW TO] Restore your Motorola Droid 4 (XT894) to stock [Windows Only]

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by r314bd, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also be sure to check the MD5s.
  2. RitaT1219
    Offline

    RitaT1219 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No my battery level was at about 80 or 90% :(
  3. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way I restored at around 15-25%. Succeeded for me.
  4. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm. And now it won't let you enter AP Fastboot mode and try reflashing?
    Not quite sure I understand what you mean here, could you explain?
  5. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My battery level was 15-25% when I used these files. My phone wasn't bricked though, I'd uninstalled a lot of system & Verizon apps which kept failing when trying to reinstall through Titanium Backup. Also I kept dropping 3G & Wifi so I called Verizon and they said they'd send me a new phone but since the fastboot files are out, I'll keep this one.
  6. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you end up getting it to work?
  7. core2kid
    Offline

    core2kid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing special, I just followed the directions on the first page. After using the fastboot file though I had to restore my phone to stock from settings.
  8. RitaT1219
    Offline

    RitaT1219 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Nope, it won't even let me do that :(
  9. nitrojuga
    Offline

    nitrojuga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had the same problem as stated previously. Failed at 17/18 and now my phone won't go past that "Flash Failure" screen or whatever. Bad news is, my battery ran out, and that fix posted earlier for the low batter fix isn't working. :(. But my wall wart keeps the phone powered on. Guess I will need a USB hub with a 2 amp output to try again.
  10. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is concerning.

    Which file did you use, the .219 or the .215? I posted about this problem over in the original thread at XDA and haven't heard of a fix yet. It has worked for several people so we definitely need to narrow the problem down before this happens to anyone else.
  11. nitrojuga
    Offline

    nitrojuga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the 215 originally. My phone won't stay on long enough for my to try the 219. I know there has got to be some way to power it while doing this though. I also couldn't find a USB hub locally so I spliced two cables together, power coming from wall wart, data going to PC. Still no luck for some reason. Also, from what I understand, 17/18 was webtop. That's also the error it gives me on the phone for the reason it isn't booting.
  12. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try using a different USB port. you may have to power it up then on a good moto cable run the fast boot files. I have found that anything other than a factory cable, the one it comes with, can give you mixed results. if you are using a desktop the USB ports in the back of the computer will give you a more consistent connection than the front ones, may be the same on a laptop if yours has a port in the back.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
  13. nitrojuga
    Offline

    nitrojuga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, but already tried that. I feel that I should also mention I'm getting "cannot program" now instead of the "Battery Ok
    Ok to Program
    Connect USB
    Data Cable"
    message. I think I'm about to attempt to make a factory cable. Wish me luck lol
  14. nitrojuga
    Offline

    nitrojuga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made a factory cable. At least I think I did. lol... Says "battery OK" now and "Ok to program" but now it doesn't show up in RSD lite :(. The computer says it failed to find the drivers so I'm guessing this config uses totally different drivers. Anyone know where these could be found? I can't seem to find any :(
  15. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hope you get it working soon man. Keep us posted...I'm keeping my eye out for any solutions as well
  16. joe zack
    Offline

    joe zack New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IF THE BOT LOADER IS LOCK WILL NOT FLASH WILL GET FAIL ERRO NO MATTER WHICH FILE USING .215 OR.219


    Failed flashing process.1/18 flash mbm "alow-mbml.............FAIL

    AP FASTBOOTLOADER 0A.61
  17. nitrojuga
    Offline

    nitrojuga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does that, or did the next few times I tried after the initial one. I got all the way up to 17/18 as previously stated. Now my phone won't show up in RSD at all, even with a normal micro usb. Worst comes to worst, I'm going to order another Xperia Play since we have an upgrade on our plan and the Play is free now. I'm thinking about giving Moto. a call and saying "My phone has this weird writing on the screen and won't turn on." LMAO
  18. joe zack
    Offline

    joe zack New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont understnad what problem you have with usb cable.......just use ECOMOTO cable it work god will charge the phone while flashing,,,,,,,,,,
  19. Aloth600
    Offline

    Aloth600 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Colorado
    Where do i find the MD5 of the fastboot file to check with the checker i downloaded???



    Thanks guys & Gals
  20. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The MD5s are listed in the first post under the file names
Search tags for this page
droid 4 factory reset
,
droid 4 hard reset
,
factory reset motorola droid
,
hard reset motorola droid
,

hard reset motorola xt894

,
hard reset xt894
,
how to factory reset motorola droid
,
how to hard reset motorola xt894
,

how to reset motorola droid

,
motorola droid 4 xt894
,
motorola xt894
,

motorola xt894 hard reset

,
return droid 4 to stock
,
xt894 hard reset
,
xt894 stock rom