How to Compile an android based ROM

Discussion in 'Droid Concepts' started by woodyman, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. burgeke

    burgeke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know how to add ##program functionality to a source built ROM? I found a slew of posts but none that explain what to do to fix it. I used the guide posted here to build the ROM.

    Thanks in advance for any help

    Sent from my Droid
     
  2. drousseau99

    drousseau99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great job on the doc. I followed it through, but get the following error when calling make, right before trying the makeotapackage:


    build/core/base_rules.mk:128: *** generic/updater: MODULE.TARGET.STATIC_LIBRARIES.librecovery_ui_generic already defined by device/generic/updater. Stop.

    build/core/base_rules.mk line 128 points to this section of code in the file (line 128 is red):
    # Make sure that this IS_HOST/CLASS/MODULE combination is unique.
    module_id := MODULE.$(if \
    $(LOCAL_IS_HOST_MODULE),HOST,TARGET).$(LOCAL_MODULE_CLASS).$(LOCAL_MODULE)
    ifdef $(module_id)
    $(error $(LOCAL_PATH): $(module_id) already defined by $($(module_id)))
    endif
    $(module_id) := $(LOCAL_PATH)

    I can't seem to find where it is already defined....any ideas?

    EDIT: figured it out, had to remove the htc, generic, and sample directories from android/system/device
     
    #26 drousseau99, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  3. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    take the phone and phone setup and setup wizard apks from a stock verizon ota deodexed ROM/release


    this way you have the ##program and you will have the setup wizard for the initial setup of your google account
     
  4. burgeke

    burgeke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woodyman,

    Thanks for the reply. I must be goofing something though. After I copy over the apks, set perms, etc... Any interaction with the phone dialer causes a FC.

    Edit: I grabbed them from a deodexed FRG22D ROM
     
  5. maddog94d

    maddog94d New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cant seem to get past this.

    Which would you like? [generic-eng] 3
    build/core/product_config.mk:192: *** device/sholes/sholes.mk: PRODUCT_NAME must be unique; "generic_sholes" already used by device/motorola/sholes/sholes.mk device/sholes/sholes.mk . Stop.

    ** Don't have a product spec for: 'generic_sholes'
    ** Do you have the right repo manifest?

    anyone got an idea what i am missing.im on Ubuntu 10.04
     
  6. drousseau99

    drousseau99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    try getting rid of the device/sholes directory. The sholes directory should reside under device/motorola.

     
  7. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    rather then using the apk's from a previous rom you can just install this zip from cyanogen it contains all the latest versions of all the Gapps.

    http://bit.ly/9D094X
     
  8. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    if you already started one build and it errors you need to do "make clean" before the next make.

    if that still errors you can use a "make clobber" this will remove all the files from the previous build and then use "make" to start fresh.
     
Search tags for this page
android compile browser
,
android lunch menu... pick a combo
,
android rom compile
,
build/core/base rules.mk:130
,

compile android rom

,

how to compile a rom

,

how to compile android rom

,
lunch menu... pick a combo
,
module.target.static libraries
,
rom compiler