How to Compile an android based ROM

tjkriegel

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
153
Reaction score
0
Did that... I think I'm just going to wipe it clean and start over, see where it takes me this time! Thanks for trying to help.
 
OP
woodyman

woodyman

Senior Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,610
Reaction score
4
Location
Ohio
Website
www.droidconcepts.com
I'm getting this when executing make:

make: *** No rule to make target `vendor/motorola/sholes/proprietary/act_mirred.ko', needed by `out/target/product/sholes/system/lib/modules/act_mirred.ko'. Stop.


Any ideas?


like t said, you have to do this step..
https://sites.google.com/site/teamdroidconcepts/experimental/compile/h-basic-vendor-setup

if you did, just retry the step, and if you still can't get it, post and let me know, but it seems like your proprietary files, didn't get set up right..
 
OP
woodyman

woodyman

Senior Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,610
Reaction score
4
Location
Ohio
Website
www.droidconcepts.com
Can't thank you enough! Always wanted to learn this. Followed the guide and am typing this from my first ROM.... a speedy one. I loaded P3's lv 125-1000 and used gapps from CM (there's a very recent one posted). As mentioned in a previous post, whack the recovery folder from the ota zip. I also whacked a checkprereq(?) file from the ota zip. Not sure what that is.

Does anyone know how to 'clean' the build environment similar to how a linux kernel is compiled?

Thanks

the checkprereq you don't have to delete, just the recovery folder.
 

tjkriegel

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
153
Reaction score
0
That's where the problem was. At . extract-files.sh I was getting this:

remote object '/system/lib/modules/act_mirred.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/act_police.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/cls_u32.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/em_u32.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/ifb.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/sch_htb.ko' does not exist
remote object '/system/lib/modules/wl127x_test.ko' does not exist

Reinstalled rom on phone and tried again and all went well.

Thanks tcrews!
Thanks for the help and great guide Woody!
 

tcrews

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,351
Reaction score
22
Location
Lexington, SC
Website
android.snkbitten.com
the checkprereq you don't have to delete, just the recovery folder.

Thank you! Any idea how I clean up after a build prior to building again? Or maybe it is not needed.

before you do another make just do make installclean

. build/envsetup.sh
lunch
6

make installclean

make otapackage

You can delete that file...you can also enter the system/bin folder and delete

applypatch, applypatch_static, check_prereq, recovery and updater as none of those are needed. Free up some space.
 

pyro6128

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
8
Location
NYC
the shoutout to CVPCS and Sniffle was pretty classy. Very nice right up, lots of reading to do
 

burgeke

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
tcrews,

Thank you! Is that your guide on the deodexed site? I noticed there's some extra stuff in it...

Really appreciate the help.
 

burgeke

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
Does anyone know how to add ##program functionality to a source built ROM? I found a slew of posts but none that explain what to do to fix it. I used the guide posted here to build the ROM.

Thanks in advance for any help

Sent from my Droid
 

drousseau99

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Great job on the doc. I followed it through, but get the following error when calling make, right before trying the makeotapackage:


build/core/base_rules.mk:128: *** generic/updater: MODULE.TARGET.STATIC_LIBRARIES.librecovery_ui_generic already defined by device/generic/updater. Stop.

build/core/base_rules.mk line 128 points to this section of code in the file (line 128 is red):
# Make sure that this IS_HOST/CLASS/MODULE combination is unique.
module_id := MODULE.$(if \
$(LOCAL_IS_HOST_MODULE),HOST,TARGET).$(LOCAL_MODULE_CLASS).$(LOCAL_MODULE)
ifdef $(module_id)
$(error $(LOCAL_PATH): $(module_id) already defined by $($(module_id)))
endif
$(module_id) := $(LOCAL_PATH)

I can't seem to find where it is already defined....any ideas?

EDIT: figured it out, had to remove the htc, generic, and sample directories from android/system/device
 
Last edited:
OP
woodyman

woodyman

Senior Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,610
Reaction score
4
Location
Ohio
Website
www.droidconcepts.com
Does anyone know how to add ##program functionality to a source built ROM? I found a slew of posts but none that explain what to do to fix it. I used the guide posted here to build the ROM.

Thanks in advance for any help

Sent from my Droid

take the phone and phone setup and setup wizard apks from a stock verizon ota deodexed ROM/release


this way you have the ##program and you will have the setup wizard for the initial setup of your google account
 

burgeke

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
Woodyman,

Thanks for the reply. I must be goofing something though. After I copy over the apks, set perms, etc... Any interaction with the phone dialer causes a FC.

Edit: I grabbed them from a deodexed FRG22D ROM
 

maddog94d

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
i cant seem to get past this.

Which would you like? [generic-eng] 3
build/core/product_config.mk:192: *** device/sholes/sholes.mk: PRODUCT_NAME must be unique; "generic_sholes" already used by device/motorola/sholes/sholes.mk device/sholes/sholes.mk . Stop.

** Don't have a product spec for: 'generic_sholes'
** Do you have the right repo manifest?

anyone got an idea what i am missing.im on Ubuntu 10.04
 

drousseau99

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
try getting rid of the device/sholes directory. The sholes directory should reside under device/motorola.

i cant seem to get past this.

Which would you like? [generic-eng] 3
build/core/product_config.mk:192: *** device/sholes/sholes.mk: PRODUCT_NAME must be unique; "generic_sholes" already used by device/motorola/sholes/sholes.mk device/sholes/sholes.mk . Stop.

** Don't have a product spec for: 'generic_sholes'
** Do you have the right repo manifest?

anyone got an idea what i am missing.im on Ubuntu 10.04
 
Top