How soon will you root your Bionic after purchase?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by wseyller, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    For all the people that are primarily going to purchase the Bionic soon after release. How many are going to root and how soon do expect to do it.

    Me personally I will be real busy on release day. Gonna leave the office in the morning to go to Verizon when they open up. Hopefully that will go smoothly. After work I will be in football mode with the season opening and my Green Bay Packers. I probably will within a week when I have time to sit down and do it when I'm not in a hurry. Also what I do with root will likely be limited. I would much rather have an SBF laying around but I am a veteran of rooting android phones so I tend to know the do's and don'ts.
  2. cloud12077
    Offline

    cloud12077 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'm waiting for others to root theirs. Mainly because I want to see if something better is released shortly (within a month or two) after the Bionic.
  3. idefiler6
    Offline

    idefiler6 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ASAP. One click root works. Phone is solid from speaking with the few folks that already have theirs.
  4. Oxymoron
    Offline

    Oxymoron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking about rooting soon after purchase to check a few things out, but really.... my main desire for root is to remove bloatware. I wouldn't do that without an SBF handy.

    I wanted to be able to capture screens, and maybe peek around using root explorer.... but I think it can wait.

    I think I changed my mind, and will just wait for the SBF before I root.

    *customized tapatalk signature*
  5. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I too know what I am doing, and have been following the D3 rooting threads. I figured the method would certainly work for the Bionic. I am certainly going to wait a little, to get a feel for the stock experience/battery life, etc. And I am afraid this forum (or the Hacks subforum here) is gonna fill up pretty fast with boneheads who think deleting files is an OK thing to do. I would hope anyone doing the root thing would at least take the time to read through the D3 section.

    Craig
  6. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Yeah some people jump into it too quickly without any previous knowledge. Not only do you need to know how to root correctly. The most important think is what you do with it afterwards. I personally do the freezing feature in Titanium backup and I make absolutely sure it is ok to freeze. Some people just start permanently deleting their stock apps away which is a recipe for disaster without and SBF to fall back on. Even on the motorola droid I don't delete, freeze only.
  7. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Without an sbf, there's not a chance I would root my bionic (even though I decided not to get one :))

    Sent from my DROIDX
  8. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    No plans to root. I would only root if it was too slow.... it seems good to me.
  9. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should have added the option: In Costco's parking lot. :p
  10. jroc
    Online

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    ^I was gonna say add 'as soon as I get home.'

    There are some nice root apps out there. And some apps have extra functionality rooted. Widget Locker is one. I forget what it is right now, but if rooted you can do something extra with it. I think to underclock with SetCPU you need to be rooted? And my fav file manager Root Explorer obviously needs root...lol
  11. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    With root you can make WidgetLocker override the mandatory 5 second wait time after hitting the home button. Otherwise, you can't see the lock screen for 5 seconds.

    And I agree, I use root apps way too much to lose it, they increase my phone's functionality by so much.
  12. prey
    Offline

    prey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for stupid questions.. but what does SBF mean?
  13. xxpigxx
    Offline

    xxpigxx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^??
  14. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  15. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    It lets you flash your device back to factory settings in case you screw something up.
  16. dlo-htown
    Offline

    dlo-htown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the phone rocks right out of the box, which it should, I won't feel the need to root. I rooted my D1, but only so that I could overclock it. I really couldn't care less about which UI is spiffier than the other... that is trivial stuff and the novelty wears off soon after using it.

    I just want the thing to be responsive and reliable. The last thing I want is to have it hanging or suddenly rebooting on me. I may throw on LauncherPro, but that's about it. Oh, and Swype too if it doesn't come with it. :p

    If it's fast enough stock, then I won't bother messing with it. I don't have time to be jacking with it... I want it to work like the appliance it is. :p
  17. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    You going to go Motorola again bear?
  18. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Those seems somewhat counter intuitive to each other...
  19. patfactorx
    Offline

    patfactorx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Freezing apps on my d3 is amazing. I would root right away.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  20. dlo-htown
    Offline

    dlo-htown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ya, I know, except that it doesn't require rooting to do it, so its a freebie. And I also said "I may..." heheh! :p