GPS not Locking

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by dmbatcofc, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone else having trouble getting the GPS to lock on? Tried GPS status, no dice.
  2. skier8735
    Offline

    skier8735 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got mine on launch day and have had zero problems with the GPS. In fact it locks on generally in seconds and even locks on in my apartment with 2 floors above me where neither my magellan handheld gps or droid charge could even see more than 1 or 2 satellites.
  3. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still can't a lock half of the time. Maybe I got a bad device? May exchange for another one.
  4. maxxhd
    Offline

    maxxhd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it's not a signal issue or something trivial, I'd exchange it if I were you. My GPS also locks in seconds.
  5. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm finally getting a lock, however, the location is way off. I think I got a lemon. I wish you all the best of luck!
  6. Kaos2flo
    Offline

    Kaos2flo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Mine locks fine 97% percent of the time. There was 2 times where my location couldn't be determined, and it kept having the "searching for location" notification in the pull down. I had to restart the phone both times for the notification to go away.
  7. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright... I couldn't rid my device of the GPS issues, so I swapped it out for a new one... SAME ISSUE! Is nobody else having issues with your location not locking in or, in Google Maps, your location moving all over the place?
  8. Super1
    Offline

    Super1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine worked great til updated Ics. After update it would take around 5-10 minutes to lock on. Downloaded GPS Doctor from the market - $1.99. I had my doubts, but works great now. Locks on in 2-3 seconds, very accurate as well.
  9. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting... I may have to give this a shot. When I look at my location on any application, I look like a jumping bean!
  10. doctboo
    Offline

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a similar issue. Sometimes if I reboot, it will lock immediately, and other times no joy. I've been using GPS Test to see what the device is doing. What's frustrating is that the GPS Status = On, and In View are 18 satellites, but In Use = 0. Of course, I don't know that 18 are really in view or if 18 should be in view based on Assisted GPS.

    I'm expecting this to be an issue for a lot of people in the near future. It can't be a coincidence.

    Either way, I'm headed back to the Verizon store this afternoon.
  11. Super1
    Offline

    Super1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol, been there - done that. They'll tell you to do a factory reset. I did it twice, didn't make a difference for me. The GPS Doctor fixed my phone, well worth the $1.99 from the market. Good luck.
  12. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    GPS essentials, free from the play store has worked great for me also.
  13. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank goodness I'm not the only one... thought I was going crazy!
  14. doctboo
    Offline

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured the first thing they would have me do is a factory reset so I did that yesterday. So far it hasn't crapped out on me.

    I haven't reconfigured all of my stuff and thought I would do so slowly to see if there's a particular app/config that's interfering.
  15. Bacchus224
    Offline

    Bacchus224 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WiFi Seemed to help

    I was having this same problem today. The GPS was searching for close to 10 minutes. As I was messing with the phone, I recieved the prompt that tells you that turning on your wifi can enhance your location services. While I do not understand the relationship, I relented and turned on my wifi. The phone immediatley locked on to my location and so far today has continued to do so. I have no idea if this is coincidental or not. As I said before, I do not understand how having wifi on would effect GPS locking, but in this case it seemed to.
  16. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ok, big question and probably a stupid one... did you have Wi-Fi service when you turned on Wi-Fi? Every time I get that prompt I think it is absurd because I am on the road when I'm using GPS so no Wi-Fi.
  17. Bacchus224
    Offline

    Bacchus224 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think that's a stupid question. That's the reason I have never turned on my wifi when it prompted me to, I didn't see the logic off it.

    To answer your question, no. At the time, I was driving through a neighborhood, so there were surely networks in range but none that I would connect to.
  18. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Same here, I never acted on that prompt because it made no sense. Wow, that is interesting. I'm going to have to try that the next time I'm out. I wonder what exactly it is that makes that work.
  19. doctboo
    Offline

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, it's been a. Couple days since the factory reset and I haven't had any GPS issues. We'll see if this keeps up.
  20. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went to best buy where I guy the phone and the geek squad guy turned on all GPS settings down in three screen shot and note GPS is working fine. I don't jabber to turn all of then on again just stand alone GPS and it works. I winner if it was just engaging something by turning then all on once. Hope it helps others
Search tags for this page

android gps not locking

,

droid razr gps not working

,

droid razr gps stopped working

,

droid razr maxx gps issues

,

droid razr maxx gps not working

,

droid razr maxx hd gps issues

,

gps not locking android

,
gps not working on droid razr
,

motorola razr gps not working

,
motorola razr maxx gps problems
,

razr gps not working

,
razr hd gps not working
,

razr maxx gps not working

,
razr maxx gps problems
,

razr maxx hd gps problem