GPS not Locking

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by dmbatcofc, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hope the developers see this and it gets updated in the OS soon. Maybe an update by Jan to JB.
  2. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone tried turning off all GPS settings and installing plan-b from there google account in the play store online. It's supposed to turn your GPS and then send you a location email. It's used as a plan b if you have lost your phone. This worked great on Droid x. But doesn't seem to work on the HD.
    what are others results?
  3. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay folks, this may sound crazy, but you have to trust me on this; with GPS on, move your phone in a figure 8 for 5-6 rotations. Flip it end over end, just rotate it in every possible direction you can. You may not get a spot on fix, but you should then find yourself within 10-20 feet of where you are. The trick with GPS on different devices, is technically, once you've turned it on, you actually need to be moving for a fix to be associated to your actual position. Most of the HTC phones I've owned had these same directions in their GPS SETUP. I just tried this with data off (you don't need data on for GPS to work by the way), wifi off, google location off and VZW off and my position shows my location to bein my garage, even though I'm sitting about 20 feet away,in my living room. Good luck and I hope this helps.
  4. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this. it did not work for me.
    Once I turned on one if the other settings (google or VZ) it locked in a second.
    Such a pain to have to go and turn on the other setting especially since there's no widget to quickly toggle it on and off like you can with GPS.
  5. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got the jelly bean update this morning. Tried GPS standalone and it locked on. I am hoping this is fixed but will continue to test as i have noticed after a reboot standalone would work but then after a few hours I had to turn on 2 of the settings to get GPS to lock on.
    Anyone else get Jelly Bean yet? What are your results with standalone GPS?
    thanks
  6. doctboo
    Offline

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Other observations pre Jelly Bean that seemed to be effective during a 2 week test...
    1. Every time I rebooted to get GPS back, there were a bunch of automatic app updates waiting. I disabled automatic updates in the Play Store. This was the most effective thing I did, and I couldn't explain any relationship. It just correlates with my experience.
    2. If the lock was slow or lost I would move, flip, etc. as recommend. This would work for a short time, but the lock would be lost again.

    Here's hoping JB just fixes it.
  7. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    I heard someone say it might be related to issues with some SIM cards that are part of a bad batch.

    RAZR MAXX
  8. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK after testing all day and trying standalone GPS 4 times through out the day with success each time. I would say it looks promising that the "GPS lock" is fixed with Jelly bean. :):):):):)
  9. amaralfred
    Offline

    amaralfred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. amaralfred
    Offline

    amaralfred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bman: have you definetelly solved gps problems after all this days running jellybean?
  11. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would have to say the JB update has resolved the GPS locking issue. I used GPS about 4 times this week and each time it locked to my location within 30 seconds or less. I am using standalone GPS from a widget on one of my pages. I will post a pic of the widget.
  12. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pic off widget
  13. amaralfred
    Offline

    amaralfred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after jelly bean?

    Doctible: Bman6074 seems to have solved gps issue after running jelly bean. Have you already installed jelly bean as well? Did it work for you? (denitelly?)
  14. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem
    Have you not gotten jelly bean yet??
  15. amaralfred
    Offline

    amaralfred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doctiboo: Bman6074 seems to have solved gps issues after running jelly bean. Have you already installed jelly bean as well? Did it work for you? (definetly?)
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  16. amaralfred
    Offline

    amaralfred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. I got my razr hd in Brazil, where it was launched by Claro on September, 22. I haven┬┤t received the update yet, and Motorola Brazil says it will happen someday in 2013 first quarter... I have already sent device to motorola┬┤s repair, and, after 19 days, phone came back with the same issue. My ipad, which now runs google maps again, works really good with gps locking, even inside house.
  17. jaseman
    Offline

    jaseman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After the JB update my GPS locks on rather quickly, but it will "say" GPS signal lost (or something like that) about every two or three minutes. When I look at the screen, sure enough it is working to lock back on, which it does in a few seconds, or more. Then it will do it again! Another strange things is that when I am stopped at a light, waiting to turn right or left as GPS told me to, it will speak out at random to keep stright for another quarter mile or something stupid like that. When I ignore the new irrelevant instructions and proceed to turn as needed it gets back to it's normal functioning, until it states that the GPS signal has been lost again. VERY annoying!!!
    This DID NOT happen under ICS! :frown:
    Already did an FDR etc., etc. Nothing helps. ICS was certainly a better OS. I hope they get this stuff fixed SOON!
  18. bman6074
    Offline

    bman6074 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The first time i used GPS after JB update i did get lost. I didn't' loss signal as far as i could tell. It just took me to the wrong address. But once i searched for the store i was going to instead of the address it got me there. I wasn't that far. After that one hiccup its been fine now. As far as i know google maps is still considered beta?? Anytime i see an update it says beta.
  19. Cattledog1969
    Offline

    Cattledog1969 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    A Wealthy Cape Cod College Town
    I was told by a VZW technical support person that phone GPS uses towers and Data to find your position, not satellites. If this is true , why doesn't it use satellite GPS signals to locate position??? Hand held GPS units are about the same size as a phone and look very similar.
  20. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Most newer phones, if not all of them, now have "stand alone gps" and do not need data turned on (which accesses the towers) to maintain location/position... solely using satellites instead.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
Search tags for this page

android gps not locking

,

droid razr gps not working

,
droid razr gps stopped working
,

droid razr maxx gps issues

,

droid razr maxx gps not working

,

droid razr maxx hd gps issues

,

gps not locking android

,

motorola razr gps not working

,
motorola razr maxx gps problems
,

razr gps not working

,

razr maxx gps not working

,

razr maxx hd gps problem