GPS not Locking

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by dmbatcofc, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. dmbatcofc

    dmbatcofc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thank goodness I'm not the only one... thought I was going crazy!
     
  2. doctboo

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured the first thing they would have me do is a factory reset so I did that yesterday. So far it hasn't crapped out on me.

    I haven't reconfigured all of my stuff and thought I would do so slowly to see if there's a particular app/config that's interfering.
     
  3. Bacchus224

    Bacchus224 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    WiFi Seemed to help

    I was having this same problem today. The GPS was searching for close to 10 minutes. As I was messing with the phone, I recieved the prompt that tells you that turning on your wifi can enhance your location services. While I do not understand the relationship, I relented and turned on my wifi. The phone immediatley locked on to my location and so far today has continued to do so. I have no idea if this is coincidental or not. As I said before, I do not understand how having wifi on would effect GPS locking, but in this case it seemed to.
     
  4. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,025
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Ok, big question and probably a stupid one... did you have Wi-Fi service when you turned on Wi-Fi? Every time I get that prompt I think it is absurd because I am on the road when I'm using GPS so no Wi-Fi.
     
  5. Bacchus224

    Bacchus224 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't think that's a stupid question. That's the reason I have never turned on my wifi when it prompted me to, I didn't see the logic off it.

    To answer your question, no. At the time, I was driving through a neighborhood, so there were surely networks in range but none that I would connect to.
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,025
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Same here, I never acted on that prompt because it made no sense. Wow, that is interesting. I'm going to have to try that the next time I'm out. I wonder what exactly it is that makes that work.
     
  7. doctboo

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, it's been a. Couple days since the factory reset and I haven't had any GPS issues. We'll see if this keeps up.
     
  8. bman6074

    bman6074 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to best buy where I guy the phone and the geek squad guy turned on all GPS settings down in three screen shot and note GPS is working fine. I don't jabber to turn all of then on again just stand alone GPS and it works. I winner if it was just engaging something by turning then all on once. Hope it helps others
     
  9. doctboo

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea. The factory reset worked for a few days, but now I can't see any satellites at all.

    I'm convinced this is a software issue, but I shouldn't have to debug my brand new phone. I'll see what the VZW rep says, but I'm ready to swap this for a GS3.
     
  10. 06M6TorridGTO

    06M6TorridGTO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Location services use not only GPS but also cell towers and WiFi to pinpoint a location. Three cell towers can be used to triangulate and find a pretty close location. WiFi is the next best for finding a particular spot. Many WiFi networks have known locations. Because most SSIDs are broadcast, when a device sees them, especially multiple ones, it can tell where it is. WiFi is more accurate that cell towers when it comes to location because of their small range. The most accurate location source is GPS. If you noticed, Motorola's SmartActions requires that WiFi be on (not necessarily connected) to use a location trigger. They did not go with GPS, even though its more accurate, because it can use more battery than WiFi might. However WiFi is the second most accurate so they went with that. That should explain why you got a better lock on location when WiFi was connected. Using all three should net you a pretty much perfect location.
     
  11. doctboo

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, they wanted to swap the sim card as a possible solution first. We'll see if that has any real impact. The VZW rep thought it might and was pleased when the GPS worked with the new card. Of course, I had already pointed out that it would work with a reboot which adding the new card requires.
     
  12. doctboo

    doctboo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No surprise here. The sim card swap didn't make a difference. I bet there next step is a new device even though this is most likely a software issue.
     
Search tags for this page

android gps not locking

,

droid razr gps not working

,
droid razr maxx gps issues
,

droid razr maxx gps not working

,
droid razr maxx hd gps issues
,

gps not locking android

,

motorola razr gps not working

,

razr gps not working

,
razr maxx gps not working
,

razr maxx hd gps problem