Google Search is back on the Fascinate!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. danDroid

    danDroid Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +294
    [​IMG]

    If your one of the many Samsung Fascinate owners out there desperately missing Google Search, do we have some good news for you. Epic_Engineering has provided a quick solution to get the Google Search Widget back! Simply download Launcher Pro from the Android Market, once installed click on the home screen and hold to add a widget. You should then have the option to add the google search widget. Bye Bye Bing, Welcome Back Google! Join the discussion already in progress here: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/samsung-fascinate-discussions/79389-google-search-work-around.html

    [​IMG]

    Hopefully easy fixes like this continue so we can all have our choice back. As we discussed here, we are desperately hoping Verizon doesn't make this a difficult step on all future phones.

    *** Update: This only changes the look of the widget, it still goes through bing... Back to the drawing board ;)

    Thanks for the tip epic_engineering!
     
  2. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only with Launcher Pro?

    Anyone try with ADW?
     
  3. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure this works with ANY home replacement...

    Sent from my Droid
     
  4. kellex

    kellex Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually this doesn't work. It redirects the search back to Bing. It starts off working in the search bar, but once you hit search it sends you to Bing.
     
  5. 713King

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just went to verizon store and I like the phone it is amazing. I also tied the google search and it worked. The bing search is horrible, so slow. The picture quality on the phone is like omg. They included a video and all around the best phone I've seen.
     
  6. bizzshow

    bizzshow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try loading up dolphin browser with lp and use the search you should get the option to use google of dolphin is your default
     
  7. FranklinWalker

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow great i love Google search