Framework help.. for theming it

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Themes' started by xkape, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    OK, just thought I would share this incase you run across it. Took me a little while to figure out so I thoguht I could save someone some frustration. I have only attempted to theme the stock deodexed ROM by Fabolous. It may be this way on others, dunno.

    When you decompile the framework, I don't think something with our current tool set knows how to handle the new stuff so, it renames things it doesnt understand. THen when you recompile (and it will successfully) and install it completely messes stuff up. The issue I ran across was when theming the lockscreen images. While they are there in the drawable-xhpdi folder, they are not the ones you need. The ones you need are in a folder called drawable-xhdpi-v13. Problem is, that folder doesn't exist in the original uncompiled ROM. So, you have to rename it back to what it should be called which is drawable-sw600dp-hdpi.

    Don't know if there are more but, just getting this out there for people trying to make themes.

    Please feel free to share any other experiences or things you have learned in this thread about ICS quirks.

    Thanks.
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    THANK YOU FOR THIS!!! My lockscreen and settings are all effed up lol. I hadn't looked into why yet because i've been too busy and now i hope i won't have to! lolz. I figured i screwed up an xml in framework somewhere

    I'm currently working on theming ARHD rom but am thinking about changing to Th3ory rom (I think that's wut it's called lol). if he doesn't update every damn day that is lol
  3. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    You don't like the 3 pane settings windows? lmao
  4. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    hahahaha yep that's wut i'm talkin bout! it's ALMOST useable but uhhh Not lol
  5. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just curious: What tool are you using to decompile the framework? I used apktool to decompile framework-res of RootzBoat v6.1 and I am not seeing that v13-folder, I do have a drawable-sw600dp-xhdpi folder though.
  6. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    quin... can you recompile it or do you get multiple substitution errors?
  7. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    without making any changes, recompiling without errors.
  8. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    ok so you are able to decompile and your folders remain named correctly? And recompile without error? lol.. ok I need YOUR apktool!

    Mine worked a couple days ago but then it started keeping the correct name instead of changing it to that v13 I was telling you about. Once that happened, it wouldnt recompile anymore. So Im doing a major workaround over here involving apktool.jar 1.4.1, renaming folders, adding folders back in that were lost.. on and on... sucks... im still missing something too because settings is back to a 3 pane window. So i still have more to move over. Once I get it built up I wont have to do all that again though because in order to make something work it has to be decompiled and recompiled with the same apktool. So, once and done from then on.
  9. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  10. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    ok, which sdk are you on? maybe I havent updated? I dunno..lol tried about everything i could think of.
  11. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    SDK tools rev 16, platform-tools rev 10
  12. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    yep thats what im using.. lol Just ain't working for me :(
  13. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    and you are using apktool 1.4.3 ?? you mentioned 1.4.1 earlier, so just making sure ...

    to be more specific: you are NOT using apk-manager or apk-multi-tool, right?
  14. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    yeah i just stuck apktool.jar 1.4.3 in there and updated my sdk as of an hour ago. Still getting the multiple substitution issue. Its ok, the apktool.jar maker said it was an issue and it needed fixed.
  15. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    just sent you a PM ... i have a question of my own :)
  16. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    got this thing recompiled finally. pain in the butt but, 1.4.3 used, all remained how it was supposed to and all is well.
  17. quinolin
    Offline

    quinolin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    glad to hear you got things working DancingNexus
  18. gsxr750
    Offline

    gsxr750 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Ca
    You have to update to the latest android sdk and try using apk multi tool. Thats what i use and i decompiled framework and other apps and recompiled them with editing value folders and such. Once you install it take the latest aapt and put it in you others folder and make sure your on the latest of apktool. When compiling framework you have to edit all the plural xml's! Ive done this a dozen times now. Look at your log when it errors, it tells you whats happened. Alot of these ics apps are packaged different before creating errors. I don't know y you guys are having missing folders either, never had that
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  19. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Yeah i figured out the whole plurals thing yesterday.. shouldnt have to do that though. From what I read, the apktool maker... brut.all ...... knows about it and is making a 1.4.4
  20. gsxr750
    Offline

    gsxr750 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Ca
    Ok pm me if ya need anything big dog. I've figured out most of it Latin Google.apk was a *****!

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

theming ics framework