foxfi for s4

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by droidworld, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. jacobbones
    Offline

    jacobbones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have unlimited and I use foxfi.
    I haven't upgraded yet in fear of foxfi not working afterwards, and just popped on here to see if anyone was talking about it.

    So just want to make sure before I upgrade. Foxfi will still work as normal I just have to close the pop-up by hitting home?? Will it pop up everytime you open it or just the first?
  2. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxi works fine with the update. The pop up is as mentioned by someone on the forum as a scare tactic. You can just hit the home button on the phone afterwords.
  3. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Just installed the update. First thing up ...... Foxfi wants to update, and mentions the dreaded lockscreen to not have any issues, or just ignore the question when it comes up as others have mentioned and either cancel our hit home button. I'll probably check this out tomorrow.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,773
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Just got the FoxFi update which specifically targeted the s4, still works flawlessly for me.
  5. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How does the lock screen work? I did the update but just ignore the error message
  6. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I installed the update for FoxFi (version 2.13.1) and then enabled it to install a certificate on my phone vis VPN. During that process, I was not asked to turn on a lock screen, perhaps because I was already using one.

    As @dezymond also found, FoxFi works fine now... no Verizon message box.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
  7. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just did the foxfi update. Works as mentioned
  8. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I haven't installed the new Foxfi version yet. If I'm reading correctly, since I don't use nor do I want to use a lockscreen, you have to go into the Foxfi settings and activate "no lockscreen" under the hash code. This may continue to bring up the Verizon authorization, but you can ignore it as we do right now.

    Let me know if I'm missing something.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
  9. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    That is my understanding as well, from reading the Description in the Play Store.

    Just out of curiosity, I tried to remove my Lock Screen after installing the update and the option to have no lock screen is now grayed out. I would imagine I would have to delete the certificate first if I wanted to change to no lock screen.
  10. MikeMercury
    Offline

    MikeMercury New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Although I avoid updates like the plague... yesterday when syncing my S4 to my PC... it auto-started an update (that I didn't want to risk interrupting); so I feared the worse.

    I am on a full data plan via Verizon; and now after the update...
    FoxFi still runs; though when clicking the "Activate Hot Spot" box... a window briefly pops-up saying "checking for subscription status". That popup goes away and FoxFi does indeed work.

    I don't remember it doing that pre-update.
  11. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    You are correct, it wasn't there before the update. You'll probably receive the new Foxfi update shortly, as it's specifically for the S4.
  12. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Yes, you'll have to remove the certificate first, before getting rid of the lockscreen.
  13. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ah, there's no joy in Mudville folks. Decided to fdr to have the Wi-Fi toggle, however, also had to reset Foxfi - the updated version. Now I can't access it without first setting a lockscreen. Hope I'll be able to follow the info in their description and remove the lockscreen through the hash code, and have Foxfi work from there. I really despise using a lockscreen.
  14. cybertec69
    Online

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Same situation here.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
  15. Jdanner46
    Offline

    Jdanner46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Try using Bluetooth, it worked for me
  16. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxfi is working perfectly for me.
  17. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I see the Thunderbolt in your profile. Do you now have the S4? If so, have you done the Foxfi update that's specifically for the S4?
  18. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to change my profile. Not sure how to do that but I currently have an s4. I have done the update and I gave not had any problems. No pop up errors since the foxfi update
  19. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Settings - Edit Profile (on left side of page)

    You had to do the OTA update before receiving the one for Foxfi, correct? I got the initial question from Verizon to activate tethering after installing the OTA, which I ignored. Then the Foxfi update came in which asks to setup a lock screen to use, which I also ignored until doing an fdr, and while reinstalling my apps, the new Foxfi update jumped in then. Sent them a query about being able to remove or not use a lock screen via their hash code in settings. Hoping to hear something soon.
  20. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    This is all I see in settings. Was able to change my sig.
    To answer your question yes I did the OTA update then foxi update
    View attachment 64903

    galaxy s4
Search tags for this page

did an update to s4 now foxfi does not work

,
does foxfi work on galaxy s4
,

foxfi 2.13 key

,

foxfi 2.13.1

,

foxfi 2.13.1 key

,
foxfi 2.13.1 serial code
,
foxfi for s4
,

foxfi galaxy s4

,

foxfi verizon

,
nolockscreen foxfi
,

s4 foxfi

,
samsung galaxy s4 verizon update foxfi