PdaNet/FoxFi and the Galaxy S4

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by kevsgroove, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I'm seriously looking at the S4 when it's released and was wondering how it will work with FoxFi or PdaNet. It seems that, right now at least, the SIII doesn't work with FoxFi and unless there's a fix, it probably won't work with the S4. However, does it work being tethered and using PdaNet? I don't have an issue using the cord, as a matter of fact, my Bionic is tethered and I'm using PdaNet right now while at work. Anyone have any insight?

    Thanks.........
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,268
    Likes Received:
    591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I believe the issue is foxfi doesn't work on any Samsung device, just as much as it is that Pda net won't work on jb... If I recall foxfi hasn't worked with Samsung devices... I could be wrong..
  3. steeletown
    Offline

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It works fine on my S3.
  4. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PDA Net+ (PDA Net with FoxFi) works fine on my Galaxy Note 2.
  5. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,268
    Likes Received:
    591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    So I stand corrected... I never tried it on my note2.
  6. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Okay, good to know. I take it, this is with jelly bean.
  7. steeletown
    Offline

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm on the jellybean 4.1.2 leak
  8. indywrenchin76
    Offline

    indywrenchin76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W. Florida
    Pda net.+ works fine on my gs3.
  9. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on stock Jellybean 4.1.1
  10. kkwst2
    Offline

    kkwst2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FoxFi works on my Verizon Nexus with 4.2.2. It isn't even as simple as device and Android version, because it does not work on my wife's Sprint GS3 4.1.2 (?? not 100% on version). Something is different about Sprint FW that it won't work. I think all bets are off until someone tries it. FoxFi is nifty but they are pretty slow to develop for new phones. The root options are much more reliable, but of course we'll have to wait for good root solutions (I'm guessing your'e not into rooting if you're asking abotu FoxFi).
  11. indywrenchin76
    Offline

    indywrenchin76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W. Florida
    I tried to install pdanet and foxfi on my buddy's sprint gs3 but couldn't get them from playstore. I think sprint blocks teather apps. I even tried to s-beam it to him.
  12. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sprint and TMobile removed foxi from their playstore. I want to get the s4 but i need foxi still using my Droid bionic which with jelly bean still works like a charm. So maybe we get lucky.
  13. Ducky8888
    Offline

    Ducky8888 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the S4 on saturday, installed everythign the same way I did on my S3 (which was working fine), but on the S4 foxfi crashes and says "unfortunately foxfi has stopped"

    I have sent a support request to june fabric
  14. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    My AT&T stock GS3 and FoxFi, 100%
  15. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Use elixir widgets 2 the hotspot widget bypasses the activation check and turns on the stock hotspot app normally.
  16. rdiggity123
    Offline

    rdiggity123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to use elixir widgets 2, but when I enable the wifi hotspot, I get a message stating that my plan may not have the Hostpot service. My G4 is through Sprint, and so far I have not been able to get tethering to work. I have tried to use different versions of wireless tether for root users (I am currently rooted) with no luck. Anybody else getting it working yet?
  17. UltimatePeter
    Offline

    UltimatePeter New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [How To] Enable Sprint Wifi Hotspot Tethering on Samsung Galaxy S4

    Hello.
    I think it is pretty lame for everyone in this forum to say they got their PDAnet or Foxify working on this phone or that when it is not the Galaxy S4. Isn't this the S4 section?

    Over the past week, after getting my Galaxy S4, I have done extensive testing of PDAnet, FoxFi, and [Root] WiFi Tether. I have read anything and everything there is on this subject for this phone.
    Results:
    FoxFi and PDAnet: when you attempt to turn on Bluetooth DUN for these programs, they terminate and say "[PDAnet or FoxFi] has stopped working" It does something to turn Bluetooth on, because you can pair another device with it, but there is no internet connectivity.
    Wifi Tether for Root: This program appears to run normally while putting it on the Galaxy S3 profile (and every other imaginable configuration of settings, for real!), but it does not emit any sort of Wifi AP, no SSID will show up on network list on any of your devices.

    So... After doing all this for a number of days, I read further and further on XDA. Here is what I found for a solution that works awesome.

    Prerequisite: ROOT YOUR PHONE If you don't know how, here you go, easy way I used is at [ROOT] Root Samsung Galaxy S4 with Motochopper - xda-developers

    I hadn't found any vids on YouTube yet on how to do this for Sprint, so I decided to help out and take matters into my own hands.
    Here's the vid I made, and seems to work well. Don't have to use Clockwork, DO have to Root phone first. I recommend the motochopper method, quick and easy.

    This will enable the internal system wifi tethering on your settings menu. This is for Samsung Galaxy S4 on Sprint. Do at your own risk. You are about to replace your Services Jar file and odex files, so... At your own risk. I claim no responsibility and modifying your phone in such a manner is your responsibility and liability. Why? Because you own your phone. I don't... and neither does Sprint. I am providing this information for educational purposes only.


    Check out other awesome things at: UltimatePeter.com

    Thanks to crawrj!
    References:
    Original XDA Thread: [MOD][Deodex][Odex][MDC][MDL]Hotspot Mod - xda-developers
    Odexed Replacement Zip: MDCHotspotMod-Odexed.zip | by crawrj for Galaxy S 4
    Youtube Address: youtu.be/1Jin3v04O_Q

    My Phone:
    SPH-L720
    Android 4.2.2
    Baseband L720VPUAMDC
    Kernal 3.4.0-442222
    Build JDQ39.L720VPUAMDC
  18. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    PDANet works just fine on my stock GS3 from Verizon. My brother is considering the S4 on Verizon, but if PDANet wont play nice, then i will suggest that he saves some coin and gets the S3. Please let me know as soon as someone is able to test it out and confirm that it works. Thanks.
  19. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That is true, but the first couple comments are with regards to it not working on any Samsung phone, so we are just confirming that they are mistaken. Don't take it personally.
  20. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    My wife has the S3 and Foxfi works perfect on it. I have the Note 2 and Foxfi is stellar on it as well.
Search tags for this page

does foxfi work on galaxy s4

,
foxfi for galaxy s4
,

foxfi galaxy s4

,
foxfi on galaxy s4
,
foxfi s4
,

foxfi samsung galaxy s4

,
foxfi sprint galaxy s4
,

galaxy s4 foxfi

,
galaxy s4 pdanet
,
pdanet for galaxy s4
,

pdanet galaxy s4

,

pdanet samsung galaxy s4

,

samsung galaxy s4 foxfi

,
samsung galaxy s4 pdanet
,
unfortunately foxfi has stopped