foxfi for s4

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by droidworld, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If anyone is using this app after the update I am receiving this error. Not sure if it works the way it should now.


    View attachment 64665
  2. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I now get the same thing, but didn't prior to the upgrade.
  3. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Upgrade on FoxFi or upgrade on firmware for the s4?

    Guess they're trying to prevent tethering for those without a hotspot plan...stinkin Verizon
  4. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was after updating the firmware
  5. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yup, that's good ol' Verizon trying to stop tethering.
  6. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Upgrade of the S4 firmware.
  7. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    It still works, once the pop up window comes up, just chose Go to My Verizon Mobile, after the app opens, just press the home button and you are good to go. This is pretty much implemented for all those unlimited data HOGS who use their unlimited data to tether like there is no tomorrow, sorry if I was Verizon I would do the same thing, they are selling you unlimited data for your device, not to use it as a substitute of your home Internet or business solutions, people always had to pay extra for a tethering plan, but this is happening do to those unlimited data plan users who have abused it.. I also have unlimited data, but have never gone to the extremes that I see some people boast about, like 100 GIGS a month. No wonder Verizon is doing this.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
  8. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well that sucks. One of my favorite apps. I hope foxi will release a fix for this
  9. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Try what cybertec posted. I can't tell you if it'll work or not as I don't have the issue.
  10. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    The way this phone is locked down, especially with the Knox security software implemented by Samsung, I say good luck, same thing with Root Access, the Devs will have a ball trying to Root this device.
  11. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Apparently you have not flashed the new update yet.
  12. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if it works then why have that message?I will give this a try.
  13. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Nope. Running stock rooted and I am not sacrificing root for app2sd and a possible smoother UI
  14. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Scare tactic. Majority of the users would stray away from tethering if they saw that message.
  15. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Sooner or later you will have to get the update, no matter how hard you resist, even by being rooted, once 4.3 comes out "which again will be a new build" that the Devs will have no access to, what will you do, if by that time the devs have not broken the new boot loader lock, they also will not be able to flash any new updates to your device, since any new build has to be accessible to the devs for them to implement their features, so again, what will you do. And what happens when 5.0 ships to the S4, which it will, and the Devs still have not broken the code, what will you do, that is the question.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
  16. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    One more thing, I have an S3 which is rooted and unlocked, and it needed it to run super smooth "with a few issues here and there, but that is the trade off by loading unregistered software to your device". Now in regards to the S4, hell this phone is smooth as butter without any rooting, yes you get a few features that you don't with a stock ROM, but again, is it worth it to crap out a brand new phone, when in the end the same phone runs like a bandit out of the box. That is one reason I waited seven months to root my S3, by that time the Devs had things a bit more under control.
  17. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yeah, but I've only had the phone for a week so far I'll hang onto it happily for now. I'll resist their attempt at forcing an update as long as I can, and I can always turn to ROMs once those are released and solved such issues. And as far as I'm concerned regarding 4.3, I myself am not familiar with any new features that OS will have, but I've been perfectly happy with JellyBean ever since I had it on my Nexus.

    There will always be a workaround. Just 2 years ago there were fears of root being phased out yet there has always been a workaround. Until the day that root is no longer possible I will have my device/s rooted.

    I'm not resisting change at all, if I did I'd still have my Nexus. I'm just with the small percentage around the globe who wants full access of their device. I have alot of faith in the Android dev community and they have yet to let me down. Manufacturers are definitely making root more difficult with each iteration and update, but I believe the dev community can keep pace. Sure it may take longer to root a device than before but it certainly is possible.

    Maybe there will be a day where I decide I no longer need root like how I've decided with this device so far that I don't need a ROM. The Android experience is much improved than what it used to be and out of the box the s4 is a fantastic phone which is why I pretty much kept it stock with the exception of root. TouchWiz and all the stock features are still on and useful for me. Until that day comes where I find root to be unnecessary like I do ROMs, at least for now, then I'll happily keep my rooted device even if it is using stock ROM.

    So what will I do then? I can't tell you because that day hasn't come yet. I'm enjoying my phone in the now which is all that matters.
  18. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Another option is to simply ignore the popup. But if you hit Cancel, FoxFi doesn't work. At least it didn't for me.

    Don't forget that Verizon settled a lawsuit back in August with the FCC, which said that they would allow users to use their phones as Wi-Fi hotspots without an additional charge.

    What Verizon's FCC tethering settlement means to you (FAQ) | Mobile - CNET News
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
  19. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Without having access to the new builds, those ROMS are stuck on the build you are currently on.
  20. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    You can not ignore the pop up, you need to go the route I said or chose the second option and call them " I suggest youignore that option:biggrin:". In regards to the lawsuit, that was not intended for the unlimited data plan subscribers, but only for the set data cap subscribers, that is why when you sign up for their new "share all your money with us plan, tethering is included at no extra charge with the contract".
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
Search tags for this page

did an update to s4 now foxfi does not work

,
does foxfi work on galaxy s4
,

foxfi 2.13 key

,

foxfi 2.13.1

,

foxfi 2.13.1 key

,
foxfi 2.13.1 serial code
,
foxfi for s4
,

foxfi galaxy s4

,

foxfi verizon

,
nolockscreen foxfi
,

s4 foxfi

,
samsung galaxy s4 verizon update foxfi