foxfi for s4

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by droidworld, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,882
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    And I'd be perfectly happy with an Android 4.2.2 build ROM.
  2. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Rock on:icon_ lala::icon_ banana::icon_ devil:
  3. GVLBob
    Offline

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    You CAN ignore the pop up... give it a try!

    And my understanding of the lawsuit is that it applies to both new and existing users.
  4. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,882
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Haha no trying to be argumentative at all Cybertec, but you do bring up some good points regarding carrier/manufacturer lock down. Yeah it's an issue that Android users have been dealing with for years now, but like I said, there have always been workarounds. If some day that is no longer fact then users such as myself have a big decision to make; stay with an older build ROM, accept the new updates that lock down our devices, or jump ship to another OS that allows such freedoms. Considering how popular Android has become so quickly, it's within the companies' (mainly manufacturers) best interest to lock down their devices, especially with these Google Edition flagship devices showing. Well then I guess that gives me another choice in paying retail for Google Editions....

    Until that day, I'll continue to look at the glass half full and enjoy what we as Android users have now. Should you choose to accept the stock experience, more power to you, it's a great user experience that I'm similarly experiencing, but for now, let me have my root access to further improve my experience.
  5. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Root is nice as I can attest from my S3, but my thinking is, is it worth it on a new device that is already running buttery smooth out of the box, yes you get to play around a bit more with Root. Like I said, I am not one against Root, heck I can't wait for the Devs to break it, and also give us an unlocked boot loader as was and is the case with the S3, the S4 still does not have an unlocked boot loader, only root access. Once they do this, and everyone is sure that any new update that enhances the device is able to be implemented by the devs including their own sauce on top, I am at the front of the line. Even with the unlocked and rooted S3, everytime a new radio or any new feature that improved the device was easy accessible and able to be implemented into any new ROM, that was and still is the beauty of it, heck I have like five different ROMS on my external Micro SD card including the stock Verizon ROM on my S3, and can switch as I please with ease.
  6. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol it worked
  7. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I gave the application to try and as long as I didn't hit cancel it did connect. Now I'm hoping that there shouldn't be any sneaky hidden fees
  8. mike4410
    Offline

    mike4410 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I am sorry they are selling unlimited data. I have it and will always have it. I usually use 4 gig. Sometimes I have gone up to 50. But its mine to use I pay for it.

    To say someone who uses data that they pay for is idioic.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
  9. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have unlimited data plan so this should not impact me
  10. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,882
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    There shouldn't be. Heck, my vzw rep even recommended I download FoxFi since I had unlimited. I've kept an eye on my account every day since upgrading and so far no "mobile hotspot" plan was added to my account. Thought he was trying to dupe me into the plan lol
  11. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for sharing that. Lol. That does ease my mind. I'll pay attention just in case
  12. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    So you use 50 Gigs on your phone "without tethering", yea right, LOL. Listen I am not here sighting with Verizon, but when a carrier sells you a contract for unlimited data on your cell phone, I am sure tethering, home Internet substitute or business tethering was not part of the contract, there is a reason the company sells separate tethering plans. Do to people abusing their unlimited, it has in the end effected EVERYONE, as is the case with no more unlimited data plans on Verizon or AT&T. I can see 5-10 Gigs a month, but 50-100 is just plain abusive, please you can go cry me a river all you want, you are abusing your unlimited plan by manipulating the data allotment by using your device as a tethering tool with no regard to the rest of the Verizon subscribers. It's like going to an all buffet restaurant, eating all you can eat in one sitting, and then packaging as much food as you can carry for your enjoyment at home. Once again, when Verizon sold you that unlimited data plan, I am sure tethering or home Internet substitute was not in the contract. But once people like yourself started to abuse the system, the carrier said no more unlimited to the rest of the subscribers.Heck, most people don't even use 50-100 gigs on their home Internet, unless they are YouTube and Pron junkies.
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2013
  13. MTsang
    Offline

    MTsang New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same message today. First time since the S4 firmware update. It still work I just hit cancel button and go back to the home page. I always try to limit myself 10gb a month data, sometimes I go over a little but its still ok compare to some user that I have read using 50gb is ridiculous! Who can blame Verizon to protect the interest of the company. That alone can ruin it for all of us unlimited user. I believe its only a matter of time.
  14. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth

    I agree that those streaming many GB should pay accordingly, but at the same time I note that Verizon crams the phone with bloatware designed to promote streaming, just when they're pushing folks to limited plans which incur expensive overage fees. Yes, I understand they are entitled to profit, but don't pretend to be limiting bandwidth to make the system more usable, while really just trying to profit from it. I suppose the overage fees do serve as a disincentive, but I doubt that's Verizon's primary motivation.
  15. rexboe
    Offline

    rexboe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    When you get the pop up just hit the home button and it will work.
  16. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good call!! I was leaving the error open because it was still working. Thanks
  17. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Okay ....... please explain to me what good came of this update. Can' t root or removes root for those that are/or would want to, need to do a factory reset to get the Wi-fi toggle, and now this hiccup with Foxfi (which I love BTW). Glad I haven't updated yet. It's crazy, but this is the first time I haven't searched for and updated immediately upon hearing it was available. ---Thanks Verizon (that thanks folks, was some serious sarcasm):happy3:

    I know I'll probably have to update (later rather than sooner), and hopefully smarter heads will prevail, the craziness will subside, and we'll be able to use our devices without having to jump through hoops to do so. Shame of the matter is, the S4 is a damn nice microcomputer that also happens to be a phone.
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2013
  18. droidworld
    Offline

    droidworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problems really. Foxi Still works. I dont root so I don't understand all that. .phone is working great to me.
  19. MTsang
    Offline

    MTsang New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In reply to what good does this update come up with. So far, I discovered two things. One is I was able to change my profile name (edit name) in Google+ (no more showing real name when posting). Two, I was able to move my apps to SD card just by going to my application instead of my files. The whole process is easier now. I am sure there are still some goods but I havent got the time to discover them all. Most important foxfi still works.
  20. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Forgot about moving apps to the SD card. Guess I never had enough apps to consume the usable internal space. Have a 32 gig installed, maybe I'll move over a couple of things.
Search tags for this page

did an update to s4 now foxfi does not work

,
does foxfi work on galaxy s4
,

foxfi 2.13 key

,

foxfi 2.13.1

,

foxfi 2.13.1 key

,
foxfi 2.13.1 serial code
,
foxfi for s4
,

foxfi galaxy s4

,

foxfi verizon

,
nolockscreen foxfi
,

s4 foxfi

,
samsung galaxy s4 verizon update foxfi