1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Dropping data

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by lpulle, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    I haven't seen anyone complaining about losing 3g lately so guess the update fixed it for them. I got the 6.11.748.en.us version about a week ago and if anything it has made it worse. I have noticed it drops about every third time i use the internet like coming to
    these forums. Should i take it back to verizion? from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  2. Rotech72
    Offline

    Rotech72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No...I was about to post the same problem..same old doodoo...network issues..really getting upset

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  3. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    What area are you? I'm in NE Arizona. I can only use this piece of junk for just a small amount of time then try hard reset(sometimes ). Is the GN having these problems? Think it's time to trade.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForumsreset
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Let's make an honest effort to leave out the language.

    I understand you are upset with the service but I don't like having to edit everyones posts here.

    Sent from my rooted, ROM'd, and Safestrapped XT862
  5. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I too am having the same issue... My phone is dropping data much worse than before the "update "...

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  6. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Sorry for the junk! !!!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  7. esant
    Offline

    esant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem here! I rarely had any dropped data prior to this update. Now it's constant! It will take forever to switch back to data after off the wifi too which is getting pretty annoying
  8. ablank
    Offline

    ablank New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've dropped data three times since I got this phone. Pre-order btw.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  9. jays91ls
    Offline

    jays91ls New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    san jose
    update made my razor worst :frown:
  10. thelastbill
    Offline

    thelastbill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive actually had more trouble sending texts since the update. I cant send a MMS with wifi on I can barely send a SMS.
  11. ITguy4
    Offline

    ITguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too am having more instances of dropped data since the update, at my house which is in the heart of a strong 4G area. However I set up location based smart actions also since the update, so hard to tell which it is. Would a smart action turn off my data even if I haven't enabled WiFi when at my house? It seems like it is trying to partially follow the smart action even when I don't intend it to. The Smart Action 'Home" symbol is not active in the tray.
  12. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Have heard Smart Action has been acting up since the update. Maybe try the phone without SA or delete what you have and start from scratch to see if it helps. Did anyone notice there was a lil update to SA? It suggests stuff to you now. I dont remember that before the update.

    Also...when I updated, for some insane reason data was disabled on my phone after wards. I had to enable it again. Not having the data drop issue tho.
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  13. Trash Can
    Offline

    Trash Can New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    SA had suggestions pre-update.
  14. crodgers0618
    Offline

    crodgers0618 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live in a forest of 4g so says VZW but I only had my razr for 2 days before the update so cant go off that but since the update i can hardly keep 3g in most area's and they say there not sure why no other complaints so far. maybe they will get something from moto after they compile some data from the update. Im about to send thid thing back and pull out my X never had any issues with it.
    Plus I like being rooted with roms to flash. lol
  15. bjorn65
    Offline

    bjorn65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Going to Korea with Razr the update made the phone much worse but when you start in Safe mode it still does not work (Safe mode) is with no updates.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  16. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Seriously?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  17. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Started getting into settings and closing down everything not being used. Also deleting some apps that are not needed.

    Have not had any dropped all afternoon. Could it be that big red has fixed it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  18. equake
    Offline

    equake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most Data connection issues on 4G seem to result from either bad Sims, Fringe reception or Bad phone. I had issues with 4G dropping and switching to 3G and finally exchanged for new RAZR. So far no problems since Fri. No dropping to 3G and solid reception. My SIM was swapped on the original 1st RAZR which didn't fix the problem. Before the OTA update the phone will constantly switch between 3G/4G but never had a problem with 3G. AndroidPolice.com has an interesting article about 4G on Vzw that has some merit and explains some of the issues with ALL 4G phones. If your phone has 3G issues definitely have it exchanged if you never had issues with other 3G VZW smartphones.
  19. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    After six hours it dropped and letting it sit for 20min it came back. Had a Droid2 sitting next to the Razr and it worked fine. I think it is the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  20. lpulle
    Offline

    lpulle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeside,AZ
    Went all day with no problems - no dropped data - no nothing - RAZR ran the way it should. Now - did they fix the phone or transmission?


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

droid dna dropping data