Droid2 Antennagate?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by JonDenver'sCopilot, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. JonDenver'sCopilot
    Offline

    JonDenver'sCopilot New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was looking online at Droid2 reviews and have found something that hasn't been reported on our forum (yet). I'm hoping its all hype, bad reporting, or at a minimum something that can be fixed with a software update but it appears as though our beloved Droid2 is having antenna issues of its own. It is unlikely it seems to be attenuation related, as no amount of "deathgripping" "deathtouching" seems to cause the problem. From the reports it seems as though the phone is having issues maintaining a steady signal just sitting on a table. It would be nice to hear from any of our community who have recently purchased a Droid2 to see how valid and widespread this problem is.

    Sources:

    Motorola Droid 2 Headed for 'Antennagate' of Its Own? - Mobile and Wireless from eWeek

    Motorola Droid 2 Experiencing Signal Issues Phone Reviews

    Antennagate could start up again...this time on the Motorola Droid 2 | ZDNet

    Uh-oh: Early Droid 2 Units Having Signal Issues?

    Hope the community can set some clarity on the subject.
  2. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Sat here looking at my wife's and her's was a constant 3 bars for at least 5 minutes. Might be an isolated issue with a certain batch maybe?
    I'll definitely keep an eye on it now.
  3. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Well the X had similar issues and the .604 update fixed it for ppl having that problem. The X also had some activating issues that may have caused it.

    Could be the same thing happening.
  4. JonDenver'sCopilot
    Offline

    JonDenver'sCopilot New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I'm hoping its a software related issue that can be patched. Last thing I want to hear is there is a hardware issue like with the fruit fone.
  5. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone with a Droid 2 noticing problems? It didn't look like the Droid 2 had a disconnect button like the iphone
  6. dwagner88
    Offline

    dwagner88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Engadget's review said that they had four different D2's with different editors in different parts of the country, and they ALL could replicate the problem. I played with one in the store and it varied between 2-4 bars, but it never disconnected. This would be pretty embarrassing for Moto after they ran those ads for the Droid X mocking the iPhone antenna problem.
  7. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Good news, guys. I checked in with Steve Job's PR people, and they said, and I quote: "It's definitely not hardware-related. It turns out--and even we were totally shocked to discover--that the algorithm that the Droid2 uses for computing signal strength has a BUG in it! Just ignore the issue, and in a few days all the fuss will blow over. If not, just tell everyone you're releasing a software patch to fix it."

    Go figure.

    -Matt
  8. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC

    It wouldnt be embarrassing since this same issue happened with the X, which again got fixed with an update, new baseband. Do yall hear about any X antennagate?

    And I'm not talking about the pull-the-wool-over-the-eyes job Apple tried.

    And for the record, the first X ad wasnt mocking the iPhone antenna, what happened there was ppl seeing what they wanted to see. Only after Apple did that antenna page did Moto actually come hard at the iPhone.
  9. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    I had that activation issue on the X! Dialing *228 and re-activating fixed it. Supposedly, we should be dialing *228 and choosing option 2 once/month?
  10. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Yea doing option 2 once a month is supposed to help with reception, roaming, something about the towers. I've been doing that since 2005.

    I only remember to do it if I have reception issues tho...normally after a baseband update or change u should do it.
  11. eliassami5
    Offline

    eliassami5 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    the D2 has almost the same hardware as the D1 and the antennae is in the exact same place..the D1 didn't have these issues. Im pretty certain its a software issue.
  12. JonDenver'sCopilot
    Offline

    JonDenver'sCopilot New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope you are right.
  13. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    definitely real for my business partner and i. both got droid 2's one of us ported from sprint and one from t-mobile the day after the droid 2 shipped. business launching in 2 weeks.

    if this is not solved or acknowledged by verizon we will go to sprint instead of dealing with this. my partner had sprint and was very happy with their service with a palm pre but not so happy wiht the hardware. i loved the nexus one hardware but hated t-mobile. we went to verizon for the best of both worlds.

    but we'd rather just get a samsung epic or evo4g rather than deal with crappy signal situations. we can always solve the battery issues of the evo or gps issues of the epic with chargers at our business and cars and home or one single garmin unit. bad verizon signal issues are not within our ability to fix. not worth our time to deal with that on verizon. with t-mobile i dropped calls. with verizon we randomly get no service or very ****ty service and have calls go right to voicemail on a fairly regular schedule. that is a lot of lost revenue.

    to us that is the same **** different place.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-tech-issues/71096-signal-issues.html
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  14. eliassami5
    Offline

    eliassami5 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    lol sorry to hear that..you are probably one unlucky guy. You must be living somewhere remote because most people here will tell you that they have had great service as well.
  15. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i live within 2 miles of manhattan. my partner lives within 20 miles of manhattan. this happened during highway driving, where coverage is generally the best. in verizon's backyard - north jersey. the farthest thing from remote.
  16. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,837
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Wow a rare sighting - a VZW customer complaining about their service. There's always someone, just like you can always find someone, rare as it is, who Sprint provides great service to. That post is a regular 2-fer special
  17. fish1552
    Offline

    fish1552 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
  18. eliassami5
    Offline

    eliassami5 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    FYI for anyone looking for the antennae, its the gold sticker around the speaker.
  19. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    way to be a fanboy. sprint does have the 2nd best network after verizon actually. i had sprint in nj until earlier this year when i switched to t-mobile, who sucks - and my partner had sprint in san francisco until last week when we both switched to droid 2's on verizon, reception was very good for both of us with sprint though. we both know verizon does have the best network. however there is a real problem with some of these droid 2's. i am going to exchange my droid 2 tomorrow for another and see what happens.
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global antenna

,

droid 2 global antenna location

,
droid 2 global wifi antenna location