Droid X IS running MotoBlur

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by anuraj1, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen some debate about whether or not the Droid X has Motoblur or Ninjablur or whatever.

    Android Central reported that it does not have Motoblur, but simply a custom skin for the Droid X...

    Tomatoes, To-mah-toes. Just because they aren't calling it MotoBlur, doesn't mean that Blur isn't lurking in the Droid X. Here is a screen shot of the system dump with plenty of Blur apps. Just FYI so that we have some concrete evidence of what the X has in store for us.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  2. modified

    modified Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally, I do not mind it.
     
  3. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I personally have no experience with MotoBlur other than playing with it at cell phone stores. I mostly put this up to to help keep people informed since there seem to be so many rumors about it flying around.

    It is a fact that Sense and Blur delay timely updates since the vendor has to do a lot of extra coding. That said, we didn't exactly get 2.1 in a timely manner even with stock Android on the Droid.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  4. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed the title for ya! :)
     
  5. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Obviously, from the files it does have some connection with Blur. I think your post might confuse people that are looking for info, Tanknspank.

    Here's a quote from unwiredview.com about the Droid X Launch event:

    "Another interesting takeway from Droid X launch, was the total absence of Motorola Blur custom user interface from the event. When asked about it, Sanjay Jha, Motorola CEO, confirmed that MotoBlur is running on Droid X, but it has been hidden from the user."

    http://www.unwiredview.com/2010/06/...w-it-is-dead-beginning-of-the-for-custom-uis/
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  6. phatkat66

    phatkat66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    This also belongs in the droid X general discussion not the Droid discussion. We should try to keep the threads as organized as possible so people can find it where its relevant.
     
  7. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it does have apps from motoblur, but it isn't the motoblur we all remember. Still, motoblur isn't the worst thing since the iPhone 4, so why does it matter if its on there or not? If your worried about upgrade time, buy a stock phone or root it when that access is gained.
     
  8. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed, sorry about the misplacement. If this thread can be moved by a mod, it would be appreciated.
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    And so it has been moved. Did it before I even saw the request.:)
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,841
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +61
    Also from the article:

    I take that as they can be updated seperately from each other. That would be totally differet from the old Blur.

    Now maybe u need to root or use ADB to remove the Blur apps. I dont know. But thats not the same as the old Blur.
     
  11. phatkat66

    phatkat66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    And on with the topic lol

    Im actually lookin forward to seeing how much the "skin"/"ui" is going to affect usability.
    Im so excited for the X (even if i do have to pay full retail price *cries*)
     
  12. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    He already explained he has little experience with blur, he was just sharing there are a lot of pieces of blur in the system, even if it's not the traditional blur we are used to seeing.

    I think it is good to be informed, that way people CAN buy what they want, not what they THINK they are getting.

    Yes, when root is obtained many people can get those items off their phone, but there are many consumers who aren't going to root, so blur parts can be a concern.

    Rooting isn't the end all solution to every "problem" and I think it's wrong to constantly use that answer as the fix.

    This is good info, thanks OP.
     
  13. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully you're right. The big problem with the old Blur and Sense UI is that the framework has to be completely rewritten. If they didn't touch the framework.res then this phone just got a lot more attractive than it already was.
     
  14. phatkat66

    phatkat66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    motoblur being an app now sounds like any other home replacement. It doesnt affect the natural Android OS, and does follow more strongly by the term "skin". I really like what im hearing so far. ^_^ cant wait to get my hands on this in 2 1/2 weeks....
     
  15. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you nerbox08, you're totally right, my only intention was to give people information. And even though I am rooted, I agree that it isn't the answer for everyone. Timely official updates are important.
     
Search tags for this page
blur res
,
blur. res
,

blur.res

,
blur.res android
,
blur.res application
,
blur.res location
,
disable motoblur
,
disable motoblur razr hd
,
droid x blur res
,
what is a blur system apk