Droid 1 got wet- searched Forums for answer

Candace

Reaction score
hi, my 17 month old pulled the table cloth off the table causing water to spill on my phone. I immediately took the battery out- and tried to wipe everything down. before I searched the forum, (I'm a newbie) I had tried to turn the phone on- I think I shorted it out. An hour later- I tried to re-start phone w/ battery back in- I got a message that said something like Battery OK- and then something about booting up- but that's it. so I've decided to let it dry out more. I've searched the forum everywhere- and no one's mentioned what to do w/ that message: Battery OK-

question 1: how long should I let SD card, phone, cover, battery & keyboard open) air out?

question 2: what does it mean Battery OK- then this "boot message" ?

on the back i still have the white area w/ the red x so I don't think its completely water-logged- but who knows??

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
That's the bootloader. You really shouldn't have tried to start the phone for at least a day after all that water hit it as you could have shorted it out.

If the bootloader says it's okay to program you can use RSD Lite to TRY to restore the ROM data and get your phone working again, but turn it off and pull the battery and let it sit!

T-Dev

Reaction score
this will sound odd, but put it in a bag of rice. The rice will help absorb any water left behind. Good luck!

randyb69

Reaction score
Another good thing is rubbing alchohol. Leave it in there for a hour so, battery of course removed. The alchohol pushes the water out and then leave the phone dry over night, alchohol obviousy will evaporate. I have repaired phones for years, along w/ the iphone etc, works great.

Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk

OP
Candace

Candace

Reaction score