Does Lattitude kill battery life

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tsitalon1, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. tsitalon1
    Offline

    tsitalon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey guys,

    2 years with my droid and I never tried lattitude. LOL

    My wife is about to take a cross country trip and asked if we should use lattitude.

    Will this kill battery life? Also will we need to have google maps running the entire time to locate each other?
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes it is murderous on battery.

    Used up my battery (20%) when I'm normally at 60-70% at the end of my work day.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  3. tsitalon1
    Offline

    tsitalon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm...ok that's what I thought.

    Maybe it's best to use wavesecure than since it's not constantly using the GPS.

    Thanks!
  4. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Well I have to totally disagree here. I have zero drain from Latitude....doesn't even show up on usage.
  5. tsitalon1
    Offline

    tsitalon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, ok...I should of posted this a few days ago...

    Anyone else wanna chime in?
  6. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't kill my battery ether

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. tsitalon1
    Offline

    tsitalon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, do you have to have maps constantly open to be located?
  8. fox_dye
    Offline

    fox_dye New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I use latitude all the time and I don't see any drain. Maps doesn't run all the time. It updates anytime your phone updates its location. Maps doesn't have to be open. The widget also has a refresh button.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. Lenagainster
    Offline

    Lenagainster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    I have Latitude enabled on my D2 and the better half's D2 all the time. I have GPS enabled on both phones all the time. I see no significant drain from either.
  10. motoconvert
    Offline

    motoconvert New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norwalk OH
    I must agree...no battery drain...had it on for a trip from ohio to florida so my dad could track our progress back home and it was fine...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    No drain here... just thought id add my name to the list.
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Trying it again. So far it seems ok. Must have been another rogue app.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
Search tags for this page

does google latitude drain battery

,
does google lattitude use a lot of battery
,
does latitude on android phone drain battery?
,
google latitude battery drain