Do you ever "reboot" your Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by PaulQ, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Coming from Blackberry-land, I am used to periodically rebooting my device. It would go through a 5 minute long boot up process.

    Is there an equivalent function with the Droid and am I supposed to do it periodically?

    Thanks!
     
  2. hoppermi

    hoppermi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may reboot once a week. If the phone seems sluggish.
     
  3. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only reboot if the phone really starts to lag which doesn't happen that often. The only other reason is if I am flashing different roms and themes.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I have to reboot my phone at least once a day, but it's not that big a deal. Of course, I live in a crappy signal area and I'm getting signal off a contract tower that feeds both Verizon and AT&T. It goes down for a while every couple of weeks.
     
  5. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you do it??
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Press and hold the power button till a menu appears. There should be an option to reboot. Just tell it to do that and wait like a minute or two for it to finish.
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Once or twice a day here.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  8. etx_droid

    etx_droid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kilgore, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    My battery is usually dead by the end of the day so that's my reboot.
     
  9. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Mine (Droid Pro w/2.2) brings up a menu with the following choices:

    - Airplane Mode
    - Silent
    - Power Off

    Is it just turning it off then on considered a "Reboot"?
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Check that option, see if it allows rebooting instead of simply powering the phone down. But powering it off and back on would be a reboot as well. :)
     
  11. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,740
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    I reboot daily. I turn it off and back on, simple.
     
  12. etx_droid

    etx_droid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kilgore, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't the option to reboot a custom ROM thing? I know before I rooted it was just as the OP had said. I never have had stock 2.2 though so it may be an option there :)
     
Search tags for this page
android pro, how to manually reboot
,
droid 4 reboot
,
droid pro reboot
,
how to reboot droid pro
,
how to restart your droid pro
,
montymo syrup
,

reboot droid pro

,
reboot my droid pro
,
restart droid pro