blank screen after upgrading to Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by murfeezlaw, May 15, 2011.

  1. murfeezlaw

    murfeezlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys, i'm sorry if this is already posted somewhere or if this is in the wrong area. i'm kind of a newbie w the X. i just upgraded to Gingerbread from Froyo. it seemed like it was going smooth...it booted to my homescreen...sort of. it was non-responsive and faded to a black screen. now all i have is the notification bar up top.

    any ideas?
     
  2. murfeezlaw

    murfeezlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind i think i'm good. I had to do a battery pull. I restarted and now it's fine. So far so good
     
  3. leonozug

    leonozug Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just remember on Gingerbread, to go to clockwork recovery you need the Droid 2 Bootstrap, not to Droid X one...just in case you didn't know...when I installed the first X Gingerbread leak in March I found that out. lol
     
  4. murfeezlaw

    murfeezlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, this is going to sound very newbieish but what is Droid 2 Bootstrap and why would i want the Droid 2 and not the Droid X one?
     
  5. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    For whatever reason the D2 bootstrap has a bit different coding which works with gingerbread whereas the DX bootstrap does not. If you use the DX it will put you in a bootloop.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. surrendermonkee

    surrendermonkee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same exact problem but I've done two battery pulls and it keeps happening. Just the status bar at the top with the time it went blank.
     
  7. Chuck_25

    Chuck_25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here! Why would they send me an update if it won't work?
     
  8. bobAbooey

    bobAbooey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem for me too. I took the ota and I got stuck looking at a blank screen. I just sbf'd back to froyo and I'm going to install the 2 files from P3.
     
  9. Chuck_25

    Chuck_25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to do a clean wipe and reinstall everything. Sucks, really.
     
  10. RockyDTMC

    RockyDTMC New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem. How did you sbf if the phone is not responding?
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Doesn't sounds as if the OP is rooted.
     
Search tags for this page
black screen in gingerbread
,
froyo to gingerbread black screen bug
,

gingerbread blank screen

,
why does an android gingerbread screen go black