BEFORE! 2.2 official rollout. What to do? (root users)

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by huskur, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    I think this thread is necessary to help the rooted users.

    What happened last time was.....the rollout came out and alot of us were suffering from severe battery drain from the OTA continual download.

    What i did was not really the right thing. I unrooted and took the update and had to reroot. Pain in the A$$.

    What i should have done is just accept the update and let it download and let SPRecovery block it. Thats all that i really had to do. Wish i had known that before hand. That is why i started this thread.

    If it is the same as the last update this is all you have to do.

    1. accept it and let it download
    2. SPRecovery will then block it
    3. No more prompts to download the OTA
    4. VOILA!!!

    (if any of this information is incorrect please feel free to edit in your own post)
  2. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    Good info.

    As an aside... not exactly OFF topic, but not directly on it either...
    Dont unroot until we know for sure that they havent messed with the bootloader.
  3. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I'm hoping this works this time like it did for 2.1 though. Who knows if they slipstreamed something in last minute to override something and let it install. I dunno, I know I should be fine. I'll let someone else let it try to install and confirm. Clockwork should block this as well, right?
  4. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Just spoke with a member on a site that cannot be named here. This person is of very high regards in my opinion. He assures that it is just like the 2.1 and to follow the instructions in the OP.
  5. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +10
    Good info for those who have rooted post 2.1 update!
    I was not rooted when I installed 2.1.
  6. gatecitycanes
    Offline

    gatecitycanes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info. I just rooted last month so I didn't know what to do when this update came.
  7. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    Running bugless beast, I never even got an OTA notification for 2.1.. should i expect one for 2.2?
  8. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I have never been prompted for an official OTA, well mabye the very first one, in early December last year but I don't even think that was a real update, it went from 2.0 to 2.0 I think there was just a small bug fix

    The 2.0.1 update I installed myself from a leaked version I found on the forum and 2.1 came by way of AdamZ S/G 6.0 and 2.2 also leaked here at D/F so I guess we will see what the official FrozenYogurt brings my way....Wohl Nichts
  9. kermitdfrogdroid
    Offline

    kermitdfrogdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also like to make sure that clockwork should block this as well...
  10. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Yes, you should expect it. Just follow the instructions in the OP
  11. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Someone else will have to chime in on this. I have no idea.

    My guess.....guess that is...... that it is SPRecovery that actually blocks the install of the OTA. Is Clockwork the same? dunno
  12. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can always flash back to SPRecovery through ROM Manager, let it DL and block, flash back to clockwork and back everything up. I'm pretty sure this will work.
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,126
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,477
    ill find out.
  14. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    great idea!! Never thought of that one!!

    There is a ROM itself out that allows you to do just that you know:)
  15. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,126
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,477
    From Koush:

    Only test signed images work if using the autoupdate mechanism. The official OTAs use release/privately signed zips. So yes, it will fail to install.