1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Battery Life Testing/Observations (Rooted Only)

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by Darkseider, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK. So I got bored last week and decided on wiping out my Dalvik cache and rebooting the phone to see what happened. Aside from the initial slowness before the cache rebuilt itself the phone afterwards has been MUCH snappier. Another thing I noticed is that my battery life has increased. Not OMG!!11!ONE11ONE 3 DAYS! But I have been getting 2 - 3 more hours overall with my standard usage. I was wondering if anyone else has tried this and if they have noticed anything similar?
  2. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do this every few weeks, if you look inside of that folder it is surprising to see how much Junk can build up, to go in and wipe it clean and get a fresh reboot definitely helps overall performance
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    This a Root Explorer trick or a recovery cache wipe? I really should know all these terms but I didn't pay too much attention during orientation. ;)
  4. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    In Terminal furbearingmammal

    Code:
    $su
    #cd /system/sd/dalvik-cache
    #rm *
    #reboot
    If you can't cd to system this alternative will work:

    Code:
    $su
    #cd /cache/dalvik-cache
    #rm *
    #reboot
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    And then reboot. I really need to dig more into the guts of the OS. :D

    Thanks, CK!
  6. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Forgot to mention. Reboot after and DONT get freaked out when it takes a long time to boot. It has to rebuild Dalvik again so it will take a bit.

    edit: apologies I was typing as you were posting : )
  7. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    OK, I'll be the guy that asks the stupid question. What am I going to have to set back up when I am reloaded? Custom ringtones? Shortcuts? Handcent customization? App settings? etc..
  8. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing. Just takes a LONG ass time to boot and then some of the apps you normally use won't run right away until Dalvik finishes rebuilding.
  9. KsKnightmare
    Offline

    KsKnightmare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did this, and it came up and said the dalvik-cache doesnt exist. is this bad?
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    @KsKnightmare:

    Are you rooted?
  11. KsKnightmare
    Offline

    KsKnightmare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i am. right now im running BBv.4
  12. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this way any better or worse than doing it through Clockwork Recovery?
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    CW has an option to delete the Dalvik cache? I didn't know that. I'd say it's probably the same but I'd still do it in terminal occasionally just to be safe.

    BB might have it stored in a different location.
  14. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this and the cmd said I couldn't cd /system/sd/dalvik-cache. Any thoughts?
  15. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, look under Advanced, it is the second option there.
  16. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    No worries try this:

    Code:
    cd /cache/dalvik-cache
  17. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  18. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cereal I tried your secondary code and it still says that it cannot cd to /cache/dalvik-cache
    Do I need to mount my system before hand or something?
  19. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Schmoo dumb question but after you type su in Terminal Emulator do you get the # symbol?

    Also are you using the Android Terminal Emulator from Jack Palevich?

    make sure there is a space between cd and /

    cd_space_/
  20. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are no such things as dumb questions. And the answer is yes and yes
Search tags for this page

batterystat.bin solution