Backup Pro not working?

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by sweenbeen, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. sweenbeen

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    So I had the OTA GB update and now it is causing all sorts of problems on my phone. I downloaded the Mybackup pro app to back up my data before I take my phone to VZW for a replacement. Well the app is giving me an error every time I go to backup... I will post the exact error after this post. PLEASE HELP! Lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. sweenbeen

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    "Error: Error during Backup: unable to open database file"

    It does not matter what I try to back up... I get this error every time.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  3. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you bought your apps from the market AND have a google account, you can restore everything from there. Also, what is on your sd card is safe unless you erase/format your card. That said.......
    I don't know if the store will help you or not. Many people have taken the OTA and had no issues, but others have. I don't know if or when VZW is going to make a patch available for Gingerbread.
    Your other option is to SBF back to Froyo. There is a bootable linux cd out that will do it for you. Search google for "linux boot cd sbf 2.3.340". That will restore your phone to what it was before you took the OTA. Read the instructions, it is very easy and installs nothing on your pc.
    When you re-activate your phone and sign into your google account everything will restore in a few minutes.

    Hope this helps.

    My DroidX Thrives on the DarkSlide!!
     
  4. sweenbeen

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ya I was hesitant to rely solely on my google account and hate having to set everything up again... I will look into the method you just posted. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW, try a factory reset before you do that, if you want. It will reset your phone and wipe all user data. If that doesn't fix it, SBF will. If you do choose to SBF, do a factory reset before you activate or you will have issues.

    My DroidX Thrives on the DarkSlide!!
     
  6. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't fear the SBF. It is an awesome tool that will fix pretty much everything software related except a damaged bootloader. And you can't change that because it's locked so you're safe there.

    My DroidX Thrives on the DarkSlide!!
     
  7. Kasey Krehbiel

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Easy SBF Instructions:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/li...-1-stock-apex-cm7-etc-any-rom-liberty-gb.html

    To get to stock rooted GB, just don't install Liberty 0.x at the end. To get to stock rooted FroYo, DON'T skip activation, and don't do anything after you install and run Bootstrap.

    I've gone through or watched someone else go through this process time and time again. SBF isn't dangerous unless your cat has a nasty habit of chewing through the cable you're using to SBF.
     
  8. sweenbeen

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    My main issue was trying to figure out why mybackup pro isn't working... anyone know why?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    uninstall and reinstall it. make sure you phone sees your micro sd card also.

    if that doesn't fix it, go into your sd card and rename reware to reware2 or something, then uninstall and reinstall.
     
  10. sweenbeen

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    I did that and no dice... and I don't fear the sbf lol I just hate setting stuff back up again... looks like im ganna sbf back and root... that way I don't need to deal with this crap any longer.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
error during backup unable to open database file
,
my backup pro could not open database
,
my backup pro unable to open database file
,
mybackup pro could not open database
,

mybackup pro error code 14

,
mybackup pro error unable to open database file
,
mybackup pro not working
,

mybackup pro unable to open database file

,
mybackup pro unknown error code 14
,
mybackup unable to open database file