To Gingerbread Or Not To Gingerbread?

PhotoMaster

Reaction score
I have been hearing all sorts of horror stories about upgrading to GB and it has me scared to upgrade. My nephew, an IT pro, has the DX and has upgraded to GB and says that all the problems are with other phones, not the DX.

I got rid of Lookout (it was slowing things down) and installed MobiUcare. To get all of the features of MobiUcare, I need to upgrade to GB.

I have been backing up my apps (App Backup and Restore). I will need to backup my SMS and MMS messages. I don't know what else to backup?

I need to figure out how to upgrade to GB and if it's a good idea. I am using an unrooted DX. I am not a Droid expert by any means!

Any help would be appreciated!

Greg

patmw123

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6
I love gingerbread on my droid pro. Its an upgrade from froyo in every aspect on my phone.

OP
PhotoMaster

PhotoMaster

Reaction score
I am seeing in several posts that you need to do a factory reset after upgrading to GB. Failing to do the factory reset will cause your DX to be buggy, and doing the factory reset will lose everything on the phone! Is this BullS**t going to be required for every sw upgrade??

chiruscan

Reaction score
Personally, I woudlnt do it. Just look at all the problems people are having with it.

xan

Reaction score
I miss the multi clipboard, straight to voicemail, birthdays and hate the bright lights.
Love the speed, stability, and programmable dock.

DroidXDoes4G

Reaction score
You should install CM7.
Its technically GB, but based on a hijacked version of the Froyo kernal.

And its also probably the fastest ROM, giving you quadrant scores over 2600 stock.
(3300 plus for me @1.4 gHZ.

OP
PhotoMaster

PhotoMaster

Reaction score
How do I do that, and what are the risks? Do I need to be rooted to do it, as I am not rooted. I am pretty much a droid technology newbie.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

ldopa

Silver Member
Reaction score