Any thoughts on VZW using the 2.2 push to lock down the Droid1?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by MotoCache1, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    828
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,003
    Hope so....I think I might do the old "format SD", unroot and go thru the upgrades to get a clean start with Froyo, and then root and install the custom roms.

    Just a preference. Curious to see if a few minor issues with the roms disappear in stock Froyo - I'd flash the latest leak but too lazy right now to bother.
     
  2. Potty Time

    Potty Time Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why would you format your sd card
     
  3. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    828
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,003
    Clean up all the garbage....Starting new from scratch like it just came from the factory.

    Your phone is basically a computer....And it's a good idea to format and reinstall your PC at least a few times a year.
     
  4. scrizzo

    scrizzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you forgot to mention the champagne flowing from the heavens above the display :p

    But i think this response is correct. I don't think the droid will be supported by verizon after this update. I doubt they would go through all that trouble to make something that came out last year "hack-proof".
     
  5. jgumphress

    jgumphress Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    [Maybe if enough people whine that it's free on the Pre, they'll make it free for us as well. We can only hope. I still don't understand why it's free on one device and not the other.[/QUOTE]

    We could possibly get it free by enough complaints but I doubt it. I understand that the only reason the Palm Pre gets tethering free is because it was subsidized by the dieing Palm company in order to lure more phone sales. I also look to see that free service to drop off when those buyers come up for contract renewal.
     
  6. fichdak

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    errr it's literally not possible for them to lock down our droid 1s even if was their top priority so you really don't have to worry.
     
  7. xdreamer

    xdreamer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if they tried to lock it, there would be a massive push from all those who love the freedom of droid to.... etc etc. "They will never take our freedom".
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well, I've never heard that before It's a good idea to use proper maintenance on a PC but format it? Seems a little extreme.

    I do wish someone would come up with an app to clean up junk on the SD card. That would be sweet.
     
  9. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think when XP was popular this was a good idea but win7 is pretty awesome and I don't see a need for this anymore
     
  10. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    828
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,003
    I don't think there's anything magical or necessary about formatting it, it's just the easiest way to delete everything (including hidden files)...Maybe Win7 is different, but it solved more than 1 issue in the past for me to format and reinstall windows fresh.
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    828
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,003
    Well, also impossible to do since my HP didn't ship with an OS disk!!! Gotta call them and demand that. I want to repartition my drive, would like to expand the D: from 10gigs to 100gigs so I can keep backups there (maybe this is dumb, don't know).
     
  12. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +228
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Seems like we're drifting a little away from the topic, but hey it works for me. :)

    I'm probably lucky that I work in a university/research environment...I maintain 10+ PCs (yes: XP, Vista, and Win 7) and as a rule we try to wipe the systems down at least once a year. But of course that's easy when your employer has a Microsoft site license. AFAIK Win 7 is a pretty version of Vista (why all the Vista haters?), and it needs occasional wiping as does any OS. :blink:

    -Matt