Researching the Rezound . . . and Razr MAXX

bawoo49

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am new to both this forum and smartphones and need your help, please.

We are researching the purchase of our first smartphones and have narrowed the field to the HTC Rezound and the Motorola Razr MAXX. We live in a rural area with limited cell coverage and need good reception and connectivity. Many reviews I have read state that the Razr has the best reception of the current crop of smartphones and that the Rezound has some reception issues. Also, I work outside much of the time and need a phone that is reasonably durable. The Razr has documented delicate screen issues; I have not read about this problem with the Rezound, it appears to be better able to withstand outside exposure.

Regarding the ICS upgrade available OTA, is this upgrade pre-installed in new Rezounds?

Thanks for your help with our concerns.

TisMyDroid

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Note 3
Welcome to DF bawoo! Both phones are excellent phones in my opinion. I was also stuck choosing between the two. My son got the Rezound and I got the Maxx. We live in a rural area with not the best signal but both our phones do really well. You could even think about getting one of each. I do not think you would be disappointed with either phone.

As far as durability, they both have the potential for damage but getting a case and screen protector makes a big difference.

As you know, the Maxx has excellent battery life but the Rezound can do just as well with the extended battery. And there is actually one advantage to the extended battery. You have a removable battery and a spare if you ever need it.

I think the Rezound takes better pics but the difference is not huge.