Does apex make that much difference from stock?

dshoe

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first attempt at flashing a custom rom. I like apex but is it really necessary? I lost quite a few widgets I liked from stock and the keyboard which really bugs me. Is there a noticable performance difference? (I'm already overclocked) and does this rom save any battery life? The look is kind of cool but im very quickly thinking about switching back to my previous setup.

P.S. The apex wiki page is messed up bad. It's just a bunch of advertisement links.

xliderider

Reaction score
I never liked the stock notification bar so I've always run a theme, a custom rom, or both. If you have to ask us whether you should stay on a custom rom, then maybe the rom isn't for you. Try another one. RubiX has a Blurry rom, if you like the Blur widgets.

Konceptz804

Reaction score
Absolutely, I'm running a stock battery and the batter life is marginally better, both in standby and talk time. Its noticeable faster switching between apps, screens,menus, and i'm coming from a stock 1.35ghz overclock to the ApeX 1.4 with the same overclock, not to mention the memory management is better as well.

Jim 777

Silver Member
Reaction score
I never liked the stock notification bar so I've always run a theme, a custom rom, or both. If you have to ask us whether you should stay on a custom rom, then maybe the rom isn't for you. Try another one. RubiX has a Blurry rom, if you like the Blur widgets.

I too never liked the stock bar. Even though I was staying with the light color because I was running the stock ROM, one of the first things I did after rooting was to go through the different ROM packages I have on my PC and getting the icons that I like from all and modify the Framework-res. Gives that subtle uniqueness throughout the phone even when on the stock ROM.

Droid_Boi86

Reaction score
to the OP..