What would happen if...

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by zakth, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm curious to un-comment out the lte in the build.prop file... anyone idea what might happen if I do? Worst case boot loops and reflash sbf or worse?
  2. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut

    My Guess Would Be Just To Either Restore A Nandroid Or Flash The SBF.

    I See The Nandroid Working Fine Because That Build.Prop Is Inside The System Folder Not On Top. Of Course This Is If It Allows You Back Into Recovery, Basically Make Sure You Flashed The Recovery With The System Recovery App. Then Worst Case Turn Off The Phone Because Let's Say It's Bootlooping, Then Plug The Wall-Charger In And It Should See The Recovery And Not Charge Mode Anymore.(Don't Power It On Just Plug It In) Best Of Luck.
  3. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay well curiosity got the best of me and I made all the changes....

    Result? Nothing. Everything works as expected.
  4. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well... I take that back.. I am somehow getting a -42 signal which is the strongest I have ever seen it.
  5. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Good To Know.
  6. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Is low bad or good cuz I got 52 at the Verizon and 93 at home but I don't get really good service at home sometimes which leads me to bereave low is good or are my numbers just messed up
    Edit: trying 87 at work in town right now
    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,077
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Its actually a negative number -93db....so higher is better really. The 52 would be much better than the 93.

    end of line...
  8. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    That's what common since told me lol but thought I should ask to be certain thanks

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  9. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Prior to make those chances I never seen below -72 at home... but I don't see how those changes could have made me go from -72 to -42. Perhaps it's just a reporting bug.
  10. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Irk but if its legit you may be on to something ....can anyone test this I would but I don't even know what it is lol

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  11. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have Root and a file system program you can edit build.prop, in that file I removed the comment on everything to do with multi-mode and lte. I also removed the comment on init.rc which states the phone is lte. I don't live in an area that has LTE so it's not like I would no if that activated anything lol
  12. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm at a place that I normally get 1 bar or less... I have a full signal. Unless they just added a tower I think the changes I made are for the better.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  13. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Would u mind landing detailed instructions on how to do it or if u r a dev make an app to do it would be sweet

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  14. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Connect your phone to the computer using USB mode. Access the internal SD card and navigate to /system and copy the file build.prop to your computer. Open the file using note pad and the make the changes below. (compare what you have to what's below).

    Code:
    
    # CDMA RIL ---------------------
    persist.ril.uart.flowctrl=1
    persist.ril.mux.ttydevice=/dev/ttyHS3
    #IKXETNA-176: Increased number of mux channels to include M2M.
    persist.ril.mux.noofchannels=8
    persist.ril.modem.ttydevice=/dev/ttySPI0
    persist.ril.modem.mode=1
    #IKSTABLEFOUR-7865/8078 Enabling MUX_PANIC_NOTIF/DEFAULT_BAND_FEATURE
    persist.ril.features=0x0C
    #Commenting out the rild path here. Check daytona.mk
    # Comment the following line for use with Multimode or LTE RIL
    rild.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
    # End of CDMA RIL --------------
    
    # LTE RIL ----------------------
    # Comment the following line for use with Multimode or CDMA RIL
    rild.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
    # End of LTE RIL ---------------
    
    # Multimode RIL ----------------
    lte_ril.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
    cdma_ril.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
    ril.rat=LTE
    # Comment the following line for use with CDMA or LTE RIL
    rild.libpath=/system/lib/moto-ril-multimode.so
    # End of Multimode RIL ---------
    
    ro.hdmi.mirror.enable=false
    ro.hdmi.default.app=
    hw.overlay.path.config=
    
    ro.mot.ril.danlist=611,*611,#611
    persist.ril.ecclist=911,*911,#911
    
    # This defines the max event window manager can
    # handle in 1 s. We may adjust this # for performance
    # reason later
    windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=95
    # This defines the min duration between two pointer event
    ro.min_pointer_dur=10
    
    # for larger screen support
    # 4.3" WVGA == 216dpi
    # 4.3" qHD == 256dpi
    ro.sf.lcd_density=240
    dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m
    
    # required for UDD backup tcmd
    ro.mot.hw.calibratedImager=1
    
    # set default usb mode as usb mass storage
    ro.default_usb_mode=2
    
    # To enable Google Froyo Tethering (USB & WIFI hotspot)
    ro.tether.denied=false
    
    # ro.cdma.homesystem:
    #   List of the icon indexes for Enhanced Roaming Indicator.
    ro.cdma.homesystem=64,65,76,77,78,79,80,81,82,83
    
    # Default network type.
    # 4 => CDMA / EVDO.
    ro.telephony.default_network=4
    ro.com.google.clientid=android-motorola
    ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
    ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
    ro.config.vc_call_vol_steps=7
    
    
    # Feature 33857 support DualMode switch, UMTS/CDMA
    # This does not apply to Etna as it is not a Global phone.
    # IKXETNA-337 turned off this flag.
    #ro.mot.FTR.33857=true
    
    # without this property, the lock screen would take global phone as UMTS
    # block user to operate before setup
    keyguard.no_require_sim = true
    
    # set phone mode for lte sim ui
    ro.mot.phonemode.vzw4gphone=1
    
    ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310004
    ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Verizon
    
    **WARNING** Do this at your own risk. This may have worked for me but I cannot promise it won't cause you problems. I am not responsible for any damage you do. BACK UP YOUR FILE FIRST!
  15. C21johnson
    Offline

    C21johnson Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm going to look into this further.

    Can you answer something for me? Are you in an LTE covered area?
Search tags for this page
persist.ril.features
,
persist.ril.modem.mode=1
,

persist.ril.mux.noofchannels

,

persist.ril.uart.flowctrl=1

,
ril.rat
,
ro min pointer duration
,
ro.cdma.homesystem
,

ro.default usb mode

,

ro.min pointer dur

,
ro.min.pointer dur