What would happen if...

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by zakth, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm curious to un-comment out the lte in the build.prop file... anyone idea what might happen if I do? Worst case boot loops and reflash sbf or worse?
     
  2. MikeJ92YJ

    MikeJ92YJ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0

    My Guess Would Be Just To Either Restore A Nandroid Or Flash The SBF.

    I See The Nandroid Working Fine Because That Build.Prop Is Inside The System Folder Not On Top. Of Course This Is If It Allows You Back Into Recovery, Basically Make Sure You Flashed The Recovery With The System Recovery App. Then Worst Case Turn Off The Phone Because Let's Say It's Bootlooping, Then Plug The Wall-Charger In And It Should See The Recovery And Not Charge Mode Anymore.(Don't Power It On Just Plug It In) Best Of Luck.
     
  3. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay well curiosity got the best of me and I made all the changes....

    Result? Nothing. Everything works as expected.
     
  4. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... I take that back.. I am somehow getting a -42 signal which is the strongest I have ever seen it.
     
  5. MikeJ92YJ

    MikeJ92YJ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good To Know.
     
  6. magman

    magman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is low bad or good cuz I got 52 at the Verizon and 93 at home but I don't get really good service at home sometimes which leads me to bereave low is good or are my numbers just messed up
    Edit: trying 87 at work in town right now
    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
    #6 magman, Jul 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,104
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,404
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Its actually a negative number -93db....so higher is better really. The 52 would be much better than the 93.

    end of line...
     
  8. magman

    magman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what common since told me lol but thought I should ask to be certain thanks

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  9. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Prior to make those chances I never seen below -72 at home... but I don't see how those changes could have made me go from -72 to -42. Perhaps it's just a reporting bug.
     
  10. magman

    magman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Irk but if its legit you may be on to something ....can anyone test this I would but I don't even know what it is lol

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  11. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have Root and a file system program you can edit build.prop, in that file I removed the comment on everything to do with multi-mode and lte. I also removed the comment on init.rc which states the phone is lte. I don't live in an area that has LTE so it's not like I would no if that activated anything lol
     
  12. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm at a place that I normally get 1 bar or less... I have a full signal. Unless they just added a tower I think the changes I made are for the better.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
min pointer dur
,
persist.ril.features
,
persist.ril.modem.mode=1
,

persist.ril.mux.noofchannels

,
persist.ril.uart.flowctrl=1
,
ril.rat
,
ro.cdma.homesystem
,
ro.cdma.homesystem=
,

ro.default usb mode

,
ro min pointer duration