Wanna use DX2 hotspot?

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by VZWDX, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. zakth

    zakth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From some of the replies I see that people don't follow directions well.

    The given directions are very clear, follow them word for word and this should work for you with no problems. As for VZW charging you... they should not but don't be shocked if they do. And if they do charge you tell them you simply used an icon on your screen and that no warning came up stating that you would be charged (because no warning does). Also, if you feel guilty then don't - you already pay VZW for a data package which is way over-priced for what it cost them to provide said data. Get your money's worth!
     
  2. will.bates94

    will.bates94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes. as to someone had posted earlier, it takes several tries to get this to work. i finally got it after about 6 tries.
     
  3. enzom3

    enzom3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried this, followed the directions no problem. Connected my iPad to the hot spot no problem, tried to go to a website on the iPad and it took me to a provision page at Verizon to accept the charge. No thank you. So didn't work.
     
  4. garywojdan81

    garywojdan81 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    If I remember right, doing this properly is all about timing. These phones have 2 data streams available, the toggling of the phone while the hotspot is active just pins the paid(. dun) stream to the phones normal 3g stream which "hides" it from detection. Qpst was a more reliable alternative on the fascinate. Does it work on the x2?

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  5. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,492
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    Good ole Spring. I used to live there and still have friends out that way.

    SSX v2.0
     
  6. enzom3

    enzom3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good call. Tried it a few more times, different timing on the radio toggle, and finally worked.
     
  7. ELH

    ELH Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me get this straight, if I turn on mobile hotspot and connect my laptop then VZ is going to charge me, but if I go into phone info and toggle the radio before I connect my laptop then VZ is blind?

    I just did the former, going only to Google's homepage before shutting it down, I did not receive any billing warning so I will wait 24 hours and see what shows up on my usage. Then I will try the later and compare the results.

    VZ's data plans are pretty fuzzy as to which includes mobile hotspot and which doesn't. I have the unlimited $29.99 plan but I will be surprised if it includes the hotspot traffic.
     
  8. jwats1973

    jwats1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    THIS WORKS!!! After months of trying to get my nook color up and running this trick seems to have done it! Now hopefully big red wont catch on.

    Anyways thanks a million!!!
     
  9. DROID11

    DROID11 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it work on other phones like the thunderbolt? I accessed the same menu you have mentioned and followed the steps but I don't want charged $30 more a month.

    Sent from the best phone available aka the HTC Thunderbolt
     
Search tags for this page

droid x2 hotspot

,
droid x2 hotspot hack
,
droid x2 mobile hotspot hack
,
dx2 not charging
,
how do i use my dx2 as a hotspot
,
how do you turn the hotspot on droid x2
,
how to activate hotspot on droid x2
,
how to unlock hotspot on droid x2
,
unlock motorola droid x2 for mobile hotspot
,
use droid x2 as hotspot