Wanna use DX2 hotspot?

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by VZWDX, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. VZWDX
    Offline

    VZWDX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    This still works on the DX2. I found this and have used it successfully everytime with my DX. Insurance replacement sent me the new DX2. It took a couple of tries but it still works!
    Turn on hotspot.
    Dialpad. *#*#INFO#*#*
    Open phone info. Toggle radio off then on.
    Bam! Hotspot active.
    No need for root or 3rd party apps. Uses real 3G connection not a slower dialup type connection.
    Enjoy. Loving my new DX2!

    Around Spring, TX? Need the best plumber?
    BBB Accredited | Spring Plumbing | Woodlands Plumbing | Tomball Plumber | Water Heater Experts | Woodlands Plumber
  2. ckburks
    Offline

    ckburks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with radio on i get no signal...
  3. VZWDX
    Offline

    VZWDX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    Turn hotspot on and let it connect. Then toggle radio off. Immediately turn back on and then should be able to connect device and use.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  4. Leeuw
    Offline

    Leeuw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will Verizon end up charging you by doing it this way? I wonder if they can tell if you do this...Just curious.
  5. VZWDX
    Offline

    VZWDX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    This has proved to be a difficult method on the X2. Takes several tries. Not completely sure the exact science quite yet. As for extra charges, any method giving you this ability shouldn't be abused to the point of suspicion. But no problems here for a year on the DX.

    Sent from my Droid X2.
    www.ClicksPlumbing.com
  6. arikara
    Offline

    arikara New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where is the Radio off and On???
  7. VZWDX
    Offline

    VZWDX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    Radio on/off

    After *#*#INFO#*#*, click phone information and scroll down.
  8. densetsu86
    Offline

    densetsu86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im confused with this method. I turn on hotspot and my laptop can connect to it and I can use the internet. But I think im going to get charge from Verizon from doing that. But how does this method work so you don't get charge. Im not trying to steal and I will be getting comcast internet soon I just moved and trying to get everything squared away. I just don't want to get screwed with a $600 bill for visiting a website or two.

    I remember reading an article.where a mother got a $25,000 bill cause her son used its hotspot feature.

    Im not going to spend a n extra $60 for a 5gb plan when im going to get comcast for $40-$60 and have 250gb (i think that's a myth cause I swear.I went over that a few times and never received a threat from comcast about bandwidth I thought it was unlimited.

    So how does.this.work exactly cause.just by turning on hotspot my laptop finds it and I have internet without that extra data plan Verizon charges for this.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  9. Neonknight
    Offline

    Neonknight New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am still not sure about how to turn radio off and on. Where is "phone info"? I have an "about phone" in settings, but no radio to turn off and on. Airplane mode turns off all wireless, is that what you mean?
  10. hendricksfan01
    Offline

    hendricksfan01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    flo-rida
    well from what i can see, the op never says you can use the hot spot free. So you probably will get charged. However to get to phone info. On dialer keypad type *#*#4636#*#* it will bring up a separate menu. This is where phone info option is.
  11. Haiasi
    Offline

    Haiasi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has been confirmed by me to run perfectly without Verizon seeing it so no charges apply. Enjoy!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  12. will.bates94
    Offline

    will.bates94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    i cant get this to work and i had followed the instructions carefully. droid x2
  13. zakth
    Offline

    zakth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From some of the replies I see that people don't follow directions well.

    The given directions are very clear, follow them word for word and this should work for you with no problems. As for VZW charging you... they should not but don't be shocked if they do. And if they do charge you tell them you simply used an icon on your screen and that no warning came up stating that you would be charged (because no warning does). Also, if you feel guilty then don't - you already pay VZW for a data package which is way over-priced for what it cost them to provide said data. Get your money's worth!
  14. will.bates94
    Offline

    will.bates94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    yes. as to someone had posted earlier, it takes several tries to get this to work. i finally got it after about 6 tries.
  15. enzom3
    Offline

    enzom3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just tried this, followed the directions no problem. Connected my iPad to the hot spot no problem, tried to go to a website on the iPad and it took me to a provision page at Verizon to accept the charge. No thank you. So didn't work.
  16. garywojdan81
    Offline

    garywojdan81 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If I remember right, doing this properly is all about timing. These phones have 2 data streams available, the toggling of the phone while the hotspot is active just pins the paid(. dun) stream to the phones normal 3g stream which "hides" it from detection. Qpst was a more reliable alternative on the fascinate. Does it work on the x2?

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  17. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Good ole Spring. I used to live there and still have friends out that way.

    SSX v2.0
  18. enzom3
    Offline

    enzom3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good call. Tried it a few more times, different timing on the radio toggle, and finally worked.
  19. ELH
    Offline

    ELH New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me get this straight, if I turn on mobile hotspot and connect my laptop then VZ is going to charge me, but if I go into phone info and toggle the radio before I connect my laptop then VZ is blind?

    I just did the former, going only to Google's homepage before shutting it down, I did not receive any billing warning so I will wait 24 hours and see what shows up on my usage. Then I will try the later and compare the results.

    VZ's data plans are pretty fuzzy as to which includes mobile hotspot and which doesn't. I have the unlimited $29.99 plan but I will be surprised if it includes the hotspot traffic.
  20. jwats1973
    Offline

    jwats1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THIS WORKS!!! After months of trying to get my nook color up and running this trick seems to have done it! Now hopefully big red wont catch on.

    Anyways thanks a million!!!
Search tags for this page

droid x2 hotspot

,

droid x2 hotspot hack

,
droid x2 mobile hotspot hack
,
dx2 not charging
,
hotspot hack droid x2
,
how do i use my dx2 as a hotspot
,
how to activate hotspot on droid x2
,
how to hack hotspot for my droid x2
,
how to hack my hotspot for droid x2
,
how to unlock hotspot on droid x2
,
how to unlock mobile hotspot on rooted droid x2
,
unlock droid x2 mobile hotspot
,
unlock mobile hotspot for the droid x2
,
unlock motorola droid x2 for mobile hotspot
,
use droid x2 as hotspot